Inlay complete!

Every feel like Heaven is conspiring against you? I feel that way about this project. Between the freezing temperatures, house guests, holidays, kids events, and other work related stuff, I feel like I can’t get anything done in a satisfactory time period for this project. But at least I got a couple of important steps completed.

The inlay work went along pretty smoothly once I got started. My first two tests were total failures, then I figured out what I was doing wrong and test #3 was a success. Once I had everything dialed in, inlaying the Hebrew letters went along very smoothly and it looks nice. Sorry, but I am not going to got into detail about how I did the inlay work. I will say that I did use the double bevel marquetry technique that I learned from David Marks. He has a very good DVD that explains the process, and I would rather you learn it from a Master and not me.

Preview of the inlay

Preview of the inlay

Once the inlay was completed, I put the hole in the back side of the box for the money to come out, and I made the two components for the French cleat. Next step, sanding. Then it will be time for a sun bath! Yup, a sun bath for the cherry to darken it up naturally. I will put the exposed pieces in the window or outside for a little natural tan. Cherry takes on a lovely color when exposed to sunlight and that will increase the color contrast. (of course the finish will help make the cherry get darker too)

After that is complete, I think this will be one of those projects that needs to be finished before the project is assembled. More on that later.

About yaakov

Husband, Abba, Furniture Maker, Turner, Bookseller, and all around working stiff.
This entry was posted in In Yaakov's Workshop and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Inlay complete!

  1. Bob says:

    looks good!

  2. I really loved this article, it is well written! I found a website that connects international artisans online, I feel your readers will be interested in the website!

  3. Did you use a router and template for this? If so, do you know where to get the template? I’m working with a guy who does custom woodwork to make a quilt chest for my mom. I doodled out a design for the top with Hebrew writing and he needs a template to do it with his router.

Leave a comment