Another step forward

Another step forward today. The panels for the front, back, and sides were sized and fit into place. So now you have a basic idea of what this thing is supposed to look like. I used 1/8″ birch plywood for the panels, and I used my hollow mortise chisel machine to cut the 3″ x 1/4″ slot for the money.

The panels are in place

The panels are in place

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The next challenge is to apply the veneer. It is too cold in the shop for my glues to set, so after Purim guests leave, I’ll have to move the veneering operation into the house where I can get a steady temperature. I think the contrast of the birds eye maple veneer and the cherry will look great.

More to follow…

About yaakov

Husband, Abba, Furniture Maker, Turner, Bookseller, and all around working stiff.
This entry was posted in In Yaakov's Workshop and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Another step forward

  1. There is definately a lot to learn about this issue.
    I love all the points you’ve made.

Leave a comment