Irons in the fire

Sometimes you have too many irons in the fire and you can’t get any one of them finished, and sometimes you have so many ideas in your head that you feel overwhelmed and you don’t know where to start. Well……that’s me in both cases. As usual, HaShem gave me loads of new ideas on Shabbos when I can’t draw them out, and sometimes these flashes of inspiration are like dreams, and therefore I forget part of them. Oy vey!

I am currently working on the second display stand and I hope to get the wire wrapping done today, then I can start on the metal leafing. After this piece is done, then I can get started on some commission work.

I am in the middle of reading two good books that deserve a review and one of them is the first book I am reading via the Kindle app on my iPad.

I am in the planning stages for a new type of esrog box made on the lathe, and I am looking forward to getting started on this. I think I will make some of my usual style of esrog boxes this year too. I sold my own last year, so I would at least to have one for myself this year.

Life and work has also been getting in the way of my shop time but at least I have had the chance to do some quick (and I mean quick) sketching.

quick drawing of a Elihu Vedder piece.

Sorry for the lack of posts, hope to have more to write about soon.

About yaakov

Husband, Abba, Furniture Maker, Turner, Bookseller, and all around working stiff.
This entry was posted in In Yaakov's Workshop and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Irons in the fire

  1. I didn’t realize you sketched, too, Yaakov. Lovely.

  2. Bob says:

    We both stay busy doing what we love to do, making things.

  3. Lazy Larry says:

    I am that way all the time… too many ideas not enough time…

Leave a Reply

