Rescue plane

Here’s the situation; I was 300 hundred feet deep, surrounded by sharks, and dangerously low on air! ….. Wait a minute…. ohhh, sorry, wrong story. My bad.

I had been given an old desk in order to save the lumber to make something else with it, so now I had a chance to use it. I trimmed off the pieces I needed and pondered how to remove the finish on the show face and the inner face. So I set up my drum sander and hooked up the vacuum and proceeded remove the finish. Not a minute or so later, I smell something funny and my heart literally starts beating really fast. I grab my respirator jiffy quick, then my heart slowed down and I finished up the work, but I had to leave the shop for the rest of the day because of the smell.

As it turns out, I needed another board. Oy vey! The last thing I wanted to do was setup everything again and have to put on the respirator again. How could I avoid doing all this again? What the hell, I put the board on the bench between two bench dogs, and pulled out my beloved LN #4 smoothing plan and set it to make a pretty fine shaving. Why didn’t I do this in the first place? I had it all done in no time without putting dangerous fumes and dust particales into the air, and I saved electricity, and burned some calories to boot!

Before and After

 

 

 

 

Planes rock!

About yaakov

Husband, Abba, Furniture Maker, Turner, Bookseller, and all around working stiff.
This entry was posted in In Yaakov's Workshop and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Rescue plane

  1. Michael says:

    What was the wood or did I miss that.

    • yaakov says:

      I guess I did not explain the photo very well did I? hahahaha. The dark wood has a finish on it. The bottom two boards have had the finished removed.. yaakov…

  2. Michael says:

    Or was it the finish??

Leave a Reply

