You think I’d know by now

I got a free nice sized piece of Pear wood from a friend and I couldn’t wait to “spin it up.” I broke out the chain saw and got it ready to mount up, then I noticed something. Those tiny cracks radiating around the pith. I’ve seen this before, no matter how deep you go, so do the cracks. And do you know what you end up with? A large pile of shavings and a small piece of wood that still has cracks in it.

Sometimes you hope beyond hope that the splitting will end with just one more pass. But does it? Nope. So you think I would have done the smart thing and just put the wood in the waste pile, but no, I had hope. And you know what I got? A big pile of shavings and nothing to show for it. ARGGGH. Okay, okay. Lesson learned. Just say “nope to hope”. See the signs and remember that the sign points to the waste pile.

I’m planning to make a fancy display stand next week and I have an unusual commission to do too. Therefore, more posts soon!

yaakov….

About yaakov

Husband, Abba, Furniture Maker, Turner, Bookseller, and all around working stiff.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to You think I’d know by now

  1. Bob says:

    SORRY ABOUT THAT, I HAVE TURNED SEVERAL PEAR BOWLS THIS WEEK. I CUT THE ENDS OFF THE PIECE AND TURNED THE MIDDLE AND DIDN’T HAVE THE CRACKS RUN ALL THAT FAR.

  2. So many creative things require not ignoring blatant things, don’t they? Very frustrating.

  3. Heartshakes in pear can be a recipe for disaster if not caught early. Been there myself, my friend. But oh, when it’s good, pear is VERY good!

Leave a Reply

