Am I blue?

I assume that most turners at one time end up making a round hollow form. I think it has become somewhat of a “rite of turnerhood.” I have made a couple of these, but I finally made one that I feel good about.

This particular piece was made from ash which has a very pronounced grain and just begged to decorated further. The hollowing was no big deal since I have Lyle Jamieson’s Boring Bar System. The inside is not paper thin and super smooth like an Ellsworth hollow form, but for me it is pretty good. It is thin enough and a tad bottom heavy which is what I wanted. I did not want it to roll away easily! It stands about 5.75″ tall and 6.5″ wide.

The outside has been dyed with a blue aniline dye and there is a spot where a branch once was near the bottom, and I put yellow dye on it to make a green island. I call the piece “Lonely Island.” Normally I prefer the color of natural wood, but I have to admit I am enjoying using fun colors on my work.

I like to make the inside of my hollow vessels black, so instead of using a paint brush and black acrylic paint, I used India Ink. I bought a large bottle with a squeeze spout. I carefully put the top of the bottle inside the hole and gave the bottle a gentle squeeze. Next I rolled the vessel around so the thin fluid covered the inside of the vessel. I was very pleased with this process.

So you might be asking yourself, why didn’t the ink leak through the pores of the wood. Good question! Before I inked the inside, I applied about ten thin coats of gloss polyurethane. This sealed the pores and kept the ink from bleeding through.

All in all a fun project. Sorry I have not been writing much lately, but kids, MAG, and religious holidays have kept me out of the shop.

“Lonely Planet”

About yaakov

Husband, Abba, Furniture Maker, Turner, Bookseller, and all around working stiff.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Am I blue?

  1. I never thought about india ink! Brilliant! And that finish is first-rate. You’re on a roll.

Leave a Reply

