Drinking and Woodworking

When it comes to wives, I am a lucky guy. Why? How many wives encourage their husbands to drink beer? Well mine does! You know why? Because Passover is coming! The day after our Purim holiday, two words are spoken that make me groan; Passover cleaning. Oy Vey! I loathe Passover cleaning. The only good thing about cleaning the house for Passover is that beer and most liquors are wheat based, so we either have to throw it away, or drink it; therefore my wife encourages me to drink it. Think about how well this works; my wife is happy, I’m happy (and buzzed), and we are not pouring money down the drain. How cool is that!

So, in an effort to be a good husband, I have been drinking all the beer in the refrigerator. And to do that in style, one needs a beer bowl! So I made a very simple Norwegian beer bowl out of ash using my lathe. Wow, I got to combine woodworking and beer drinking in a safe way! For those of you who don’t know what a Norwegian beer bowl is, you can see my blog called Knockin’ em out. My bowl is about 8” wide and 3” tall. The bowl has a shellac (all bug natural) finish, and the exterior has a top coat of carnauba wax. I could have added more decoration to it because the ash is very plain, but after three or four bowls, who cares!

Bottoms up!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About yaakov

Husband, Abba, Furniture Maker, Turner, Bookseller, and all around working stiff.
This entry was posted in In Yaakov's Workshop and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Drinking and Woodworking

  1. Bob says:

    Sounds like a fun time to me.

  2. Dave M. says:

    Hey Yaakov! It looks like you’re sporting a “mohawk” hair style in your beer drinking photos. 🙂

  3. I know beer has a very low alcohol content, but I was wondering if the shellac had suffered any adverse effects, being covered by the substance that dissolves it.

    • yaakov says:

      I am sure it will, but the vikings most likely did not have shellac, so I am sure the wood will be fine if you don’t leave liquids just sitting for a long time. I dobut it will get much more use, a bottle is so much better, so I am not so worred. 🙂
      yaakov…..

  4. Yaakov, you made me chuckle 😀 That is a VERY beautiful beer bowl, and you are such a dutiful husband. I think the trick is not to be so dutiful that one falls down.

Leave a Reply

