Book Review – The Cutting Edge by Kevin Wallace

Hi, I am Yaakov Bar Am, and I am an avid reader. Not only do I read in public and behind closed doors, I am proud to admit; I like history. And I like to read all about the things I am interested in. In this case, wood turning. And I want to tell you about a book I just finished which covers two things I enjoy; history and woodturning. The book is “The Cutting Edge, Contemporary Wood Art and the Lipton Collection” by Kevin Wallace and published by Fine Arts Press.

I saw a couple of ads for this book in my American Wood Turner magazine, and when I saw that the AAW (American Association of Wood Turners) members could get a discount, I could not resists buying it. I remember when I was a kid, I saw an ad for a great looking game in the back of a comic book. So I clipped the order form out of the comic, got my mom to write a check and mailed the order form off. And in 6 to 8 weeks, I forgot all about it. Then a couple of months later it showed up. What a disappointment it was. Well, although the process was the same, I certainly was not disappointed by this book. But to be honest, clipping an order form out of a magazine and having to mail it off was a pain. Why you couldn’t order this book online is a mystery to me. When the book arrived, I had no idea what it was. It had been that long since I ordered it. Fine Arts Press is not going to sell a lot of copies if they don’t use today’s technology.

Anyway, I was not sure what to expect from the book other than loads of great photos and some words about Dr. Lipton.  As I expected, the photos were great, but what I was not expecting was a great history of wood art and the artists who pioneered the way. I had vaguely heard about the Lipton Collection, but I knew nothing of Dr. Irving Lipton.  His story and his patronage of the wood art scene was a huge part of how we got where we are today in contempoary wood art.

 If you collect art books, or like books about turning, you will certainly enjoy this book.

About yaakov

Husband, Abba, Furniture Maker, Turner, Bookseller, and all around working stiff.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Book Review – The Cutting Edge by Kevin Wallace

  1. Yaakov, this one sounds like it might make a good gift for my Dad. Thanks for sharing it.

  2. Bob says:

    Thanks for the review, it sounds like something i would like to read.

  3. Thanks for the review, Yaakov. No birthday coming here, but perhaps Father’s Day will do. I, too, like history. Have you heard of Mark Kurlansky. He has some great history. I have enjoyed his books: “Cod,” “Salt,” “History of the Basque” There are others, but I did not like the one on clams as much, perhaps because of the destruction of the clam fields of the Eastern Seaboard and the death of small fishing villages. Hate to see those kinds of communities die. Anyway, happy reading and wood working.

Leave a Reply

