Rounding over and Purim

Sometimes things are meant to be, and you just have to proceed on your own. And today, I just have to keep on walking step by step with this walking stick project. I had been contemplating how I was going to make the octagon round, and I was going to purchase a spokeshave, but fate blocked the road.

I called Lie-Neilsen to purchase spokeshave, but they were back ordered! Drat! I could order the Lee-Valley model, but I want to buy American, so I will buy one later and continue on.

Rounded over

My Stanley block plane did the trick just fine. It knocked down those little octagon ridges in no time flat and then a little 100 grit sandpaper finished the job. The shaft of the cane is nice and round. My jack plane and my block plane did a great job and that put a smile on my face.

 

Before I make the tenon to receive the handle of the cane, I made the hole for it first. Now you must be thinking that this poor sick woodworker must be somewhat addled if he is making holes into nothing. I might be sick, and somewhat addled at times, but I did have the laminated handle blank ready. I used a 3/4″ forsner bit and drilled a hole all the way through it.

Next, I will make the tenon, because it is much easier to adjust the size of the tenon than the size of the mortise (aka “the hole”). And once the tenon is cut, I will cut a kerf in it to receive a wedge of ebony to help lock it into the shaft. And I was going to do all that today, but frankly, I don’t have the strength or the energy. This virus is really taking it out of me, and tonight is Purim.

Purim is my favorite of the Jewish holidays. I like seeing the children dress up in costumes, and I like going to my friend’s houses to deliver shalach manot (gifts of food and wine). And better yet, I like receiving these gifts too. Yummy! If you are not too familiar with the Bible, the Purim story is the book of Ester. It’s a great story if you have not read it, and we are commanded to celebrate this date every year.  So a freilichen Purim to all my Jewish subscribers!

About yaakov

Husband, Abba, Furniture Maker, Turner, Bookseller, and all around working stiff.
This entry was posted in In Yaakov's Workshop and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Rounding over and Purim

  1. Lazy Larry says:

    Freilichen Purim to you my friend.. I am sure you will love the LN spokeshave when you get it..

  2. Bob says:

    I hope you have a great holiday.

  3. Bob says:

    I have a couple of spokeshave’s if you want to to use one.

  4. Tough to work when one is feeling poorly, Yaakov. Pray you will feel better soon. Interesting you mention Purim. Two of my Bible classes will be studying the story of Esther at the end of this week. I would be interested in hearing more from you about what your family does on that day. Shalom, John

  5. Ellis Hein says:

    I am waiting to see the finished product. This is looking good so far!

    You might be interested in my other blog that talks about what I have done to boost immunity and decrease incidence of what you are going through now. That blog is http://heinfamilyenterprises.com. I will say that this is also aimed at promoting the other arm of my business. Be that as it may. I hope you recover soon and finish this walking stick.

    Ellis

Leave a Reply

