Exercise two ways

Walking is good exercise, and thus a good exercise is walking, so can I infer that making a walking stick by hand is a good woodworking exercise? Well, I guess that is not a good inference. But here is what I am going to do. Make a walking stick, aka cane, using hand tools.

Here’s the plan: I have a scrap piece of 3/4″ quarter-sawn white oak, and I am split it into two strips, laminate the strips, then start the exercise. Now here’s the problem. I’m quite sure how I am going to do this, so I am going to wing it one step at a time as I go along.

The long part and the handle

Step one: Done. The strips were glued together and sawn into a nice square. That was the easy part.

 

 

 

 

Layout for the octagon

Step two: Make the long part of the square cane round. First, I laid out a grid on the ends to lay out an octagon. To help keep me on track, I used a marking gauge to lay out the lines down the length of the stock, then penciled them in to make them easy to see. Next, I used a jack plan to make the square into the octagon.

 

The planing work

The planing work is pretty easy, but I have been sick for the past four days, and I have been deprived of most of my strength, so I had to rest between sides.

 

 

 

The octagon

In the due course of time, the octagon is done! Now to figure out the next step!

 

About yaakov

Husband, Abba, Furniture Maker, Turner, Bookseller, and all around working stiff.
This entry was posted in In Yaakov's Workshop and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Exercise two ways

  1. Ellis Hein says:

    If you intend to round this, or do something more to it than leave it octagonal, I would suggest a spokeshave. I love working with a spokeshave, so am showing my bias. Show us a photo of the finished results. Hope you get to feeling better.

  2. Of course the benefit of a walking stick does come mostly in walking, Yaakov. I have joined a walking group at my school. Walking for six weeks. 10,000 steps a day. I will be thinking of your stick. Hope you are completely healed soon. Lots of sickness in our area of Chicago – stores without cough meds or other such things. Shalom.

Leave a Reply

