Being thankful for the bounty

As the saying goes, “HaShem (G_d) works in mysterious ways.” And don’t forget “HaShem provides.” Well, HaShem as provided, and I am thankful for this week’s bounty. Baruch HaShem!(Blessed be His name)

So what is the crazy man talking about? I’ll tell you. The “David Ellsworth” is coming to Baltimore in two weeks and I am hosting him. So as an added bonus, David is going to be spending half a day in my shop with me, but the problem is, I am literally out of turning wood. Or at least I was. A good friend of mine is a landscaper and he sits next to me on Shabbos mornings. Well, we don’t talk business on shabbos, but I have been dying to ask him to let me know if he has cut down any trees lately. I forgot to call him on Monday because I had such a bad cold, and Tuesday, I forgot again. On Wednesday, I am working in my shop and there is a knock on the door. What do ya know, it is my friend who has come over to let me know that his crew just cut down a big cherry tree, and he wanted to know if I wanted the wood. HaShem works in mysterious ways!

And today, I hear multiple chainsaws. So I get on my bike and find a huge crew of latino men cutting down a really large Ash tree. I’m in my turning jacket and I ask in my broken spanish if I can have some the wood. Of course, they all look at me like I was loco, and one of them said “yes” in english. So I tell them that I am going to get my wagon, (the english speakers begin to snicker) so I hop on my bike and ride home as fast as I can like a 10 year boy, and come walking back with my kid’s wagon. They loaded me up with two big pieces that I picked out. The guys were really nice, and they told me that they are going to dump all of it. What a shame. At least I gave them a good laugh for the day. (BTW, we can only afford one car and my wife was grocery shopping and that is why I ride a bike. Yes, I’m pathetic, I know.)

Stocked up for now

 

 

 

 

Bangles, spurtles, and wands, oh my!

I finished up the bangles, spurtles and magic wands, and I am very thankful to have this work done. Thank HaShem for the helping me get the wood I needed and for the bounty of my lathe. Sometimes to have to say thanks when thanks are due!

About yaakov

Husband, Abba, Furniture Maker, Turner, Bookseller, and all around working stiff.
This entry was posted in In Yaakov's Workshop and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Being thankful for the bounty

  1. Bob says:

    He seems to be looking out for you. I was going to give you some but now you don’t need it.

  2. Lazy Larry says:

    You need a big truck my friend…to haul all your bounty home..

  3. Larry A. says:

    Want some walnut?

  4. Yaakov, great looking “oh my’s.” You do such a nice job on the finish. Pardon my ignorance, but what is a spurtle? And YES, G d does provide, my wife and I have experienced it often. Shalom,

    • yaakov says:

      John,
      A spurtle is a 15th century Scottish invention for stirring your oatmeal and poarage. Every good kitchen needs one!
      Be well my friend,
      yaakov…..

      • My wife and I eat a lot of oatmeal. Now I will have to go back and view your spurtel’s. Although, mine will have to be hand carve since I do not have a lath. Only some many tools in the tool box.

Leave a Reply

