Goodbyes and hellos

I won’t say goodbye, I’ll just say, see you later. That’s what I thought when I watched the pool cue rack being wrapped up and taken away by its rightful owner. It’s always a bit hard handing over something I have worked so hard on, even the small things I make and sell will give me pause.  When you sell a puppy or kitten you always wonder if they will love them as much as you do, so it was a great comfort for me to receive quick email from the purchaser telling me how good the piece looked in its new home.

This was the first time I have made an “unfinished” piece for a customer, so I can’t wait to see what it will look like finished and hanging in place. I’ll be sure to post that photo.

Now it’s on to something completely different! I am getting ready for the American Craft Council Show in Baltimore this weekend. I will be one of the representatives from the Baltimore Area Turners who will be demonstrating woodturning. I’ll be making bangles, magic wands, and spurtles. Yes sir, you heard it right, spurtles. What? You don’t know what a spurtle is?

Spurtles Ya'll

The spurtle (or “spirtle”) is a Scots kitchen tool, dating from at least the fifteenth century. Over time, the original implement changed shape and began being used specifically for stirring oatmeal and soups. The rod-like shape is designed for constant stirring which prevents the porridge from congealing and so becoming lumpy and unappetizing.

I guess you could use a spoon, but where the fun in that!

Till next time…..

About yaakov

Husband, Abba, Furniture Maker, Turner, Bookseller, and all around working stiff.
This entry was posted in In Yaakov's Workshop and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Goodbyes and hellos

  1. I’ve actually heard of a spurtle, Yaakov, but I don’t know where from. Needless to say I never knew what one was, until now!😀

  2. Ellis Hein says:

    I have made and used many spurtles. I much prefer using the spurtle for stiring most anything.

    The pool cue rack looks good.

    Hope things go well at the show and you can convince many people that food tasts much better when stirred with a spurtle. Now the only question is whether the thistle bloom or an acorn on the end is best.

Leave a Reply

