A little turning…. really!

I am between commissions right now, so at times like this, I like to do some woodturning. And like most woodworkers, it is very difficult for me to throw scraps away. So when I was cleaning up the shop, I found some small chunks of Osage Orange from a previous turning commission, and I decided to put them to use.

Two little cups

These two pieces could have been made into glue blocks or jam chucks, but I did not want to waste such pretty wood. So what can you do with such small pieces? And what can you make quickly so your 2 1/2 year old son can watch?

So I made two little cups about 2.5″ x 2.5″. What can I use them for? Hummmmm; hold your vitamins at your meal, a shot glass (once the Danish oil cures more), toys for the kids, something to put ladies rings in next to the sink…. I don’t know. Ideas?

The one with the Bloodwood base kinda looks asian to me. The other one is just kinda weird, but both were fun to make none the less.

Waste not, want not…..

About yaakov

Husband, Abba, Furniture Maker, Turner, Bookseller, and all around working stiff.
This entry was posted in In Yaakov's Workshop and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A little turning…. really!

  1. Bob says:

    They look nice!

  2. thank you for this post, I am a big big fan of this website would like to keep updated.

  3. website says:

    Wanted to drop a comment and let you know your Feed is not working today. I tried adding it to my Yahoo reader account and got nothing.

Leave a Reply

