Stepping back

I guess most of us woodworkers don’t think about it that much anymore, but on the rare occasion, I’ll look at a piece of furniture I am working on and think, “WOW! I made that.”

Think about it, you take a rough cut piece of lumber and fashion it into a shape or form that you desire. My Grandmother was a seamstress, and she would make dresses and other clothing, and I would be amazed at how she could take fabric and fashion it (pardon the pun) to her wishes. Well, I guess it is no different than what I do. She fashioned fabric, I fashion wood. In this day and age in America where most people don’t know how to make anything, every once and awhile, you should just step back and think, “I made that. How cool is that!”

Red Oak Bed I am making

 

 

 

 

 

Speaking of making things, here is a list of blogs that I have enjoyed in the past week. You might enjoy them too:

Eleven Eleven by Me! Me! Me me me!

Lady Liberty A Beacon of Our Bravest by Andra Watkins

Remember, Remember by Kate Shrewsday

Hand Made by Andy Coates

The symbolism of Jacob by Jack Baumgartner.

I hope you enjoy these selections.

yaakov….

About yaakov

Husband, Abba, Furniture Maker, Turner, Bookseller, and all around working stiff.
This entry was posted in In Yaakov's Workshop and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Stepping back

  1. Lazy Larry says:

    I do that with every new piece I make… I am still astounded that I can do what I do.. and am also astonished that so many others can’t… it seems so natural to me… and yet I am in awe of the talent that I have been given…

Leave a Reply

