Further down the rabbit hole

I have been falling deeper into the hand tool habit. For the past couple of weeks I have trying hard to get time to work on a twin sized bed made of red oak. You’d think with my limited time in the shop, I’d hop on my power tools to get more work done faster, but I just can’t bring myself to it. Putting tenons on the end of very long boards is difficult on a table saw, but not so hard on my radial arm saw with a stacked dado set. The thought of going through all the hassles of setting it up and making test runs makes me dread going into the shop. I simply can’t help myself, making tenons with good saws and a router plane is just too much fun. It also just makes me feel closer to my work. I guess you have to be a woodworker to understand that.

Soon I will need to make a grooves in the head board and foot boards of the bed that I am making, and the thought of using my dado set on the table saw “bums me out man.” I have been looking for a good plow plane to do the job.

Fancy Plow Plane

There is just something about using a plane or a saw that just satisfies me deep down inside. I got a gift card and some birthday money that is burning a hole in my pocket to get a plow plane, but I can’t decide what type to get. Decisions, decisions.

Lately I have been entertaining the idea of selling my big jointer. I just don’t use it anymore. I can joint the edges of board pretty quick with my hand planes, and I never used it to flatten the face of boards with my jointer. Now I can flatten the most twisted and cupped boards by hand then use the power planer to finish the job. If I get off my duff and sell the jointer, perhaps I can buy the spray system I want. Sounds like a good trade.

Update:

Of Tallow and Tools….The mutton tallow has proved to be very useful. I really can tell the difference when I use it on my saws and planes. I also use it for rust prevention and it works well so far. That small jar should last me a couple of years. All in all, a very successful project. I suggest you try it.

Cheers,

yaakov….

About yaakov

Husband, Abba, Furniture Maker, Turner, Bookseller, and all around working stiff.
This entry was posted in In Yaakov's Workshop and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Further down the rabbit hole

  1. Pingback: Remember, remember « Kate Shrewsday

  2. Ah! THAT explains why you were curious about my plow plane! I honestly don’t see how you can go wrong with the Veritas version. The depth stop even works fairly well! Go ahead and get the full set of blades while you’re at it, and make an auxiliary fence to stabilize things. You can groove the sides of a drawer quicker than you can set up your dado or router table – definitely worth the price.

  3. Yaakov, this is my first foray over to your blog. My husband Bill loves woodworking and while we have no place for a shop or tools, he still enjoys watching shows about woodworking. We both particularly enjoy The Woodwright’s Shop with Roy Underhill.

    I love hand-made furniture that shows the marks of the plane or chisel. I’ll be an occasional visitor and enjoy hearing about why you enjoy your hobby.

  4. Youre so cool! I dont suppose Ive learn anything like this before. So nice to seek out somebody with some original ideas on this subject. realy thanks for starting this up. this website is something that’s wanted on the web, somebody with a little bit originality. useful job for bringing one thing new to the web!

  5. Pingback: No Brain. No Pain. « The Accidental Cootchie Mama

  6. xaahcow maexmcde wpcvmbmou dfsnupess lysdqi ncfcpjvknt

Leave a Reply

