The Series Continues…

Yes, Artisan’s Call has been on hiatus. I took two weeks off, (mainly because of religious observance) and thankfully my body got some well needed sleep. Aside from being forced out of my workshop and away from my sketch pad by Sukkot, I had not time for artist work because I had loads of work to do for the Maryland Artisan Guild, and because of preparations for Sukkot. One a scale of 1 to 10, with 10 being the best, I would rate my “vacation” as a 2! At least I am now a well rested grumpy man.

My muse thoroughly enjoyed bombarding my brain with ideas during my two weeks of artistic exile knowing full well that I would not be able jot anything down. My muse can be quite cruel at times, but I did hold on to one idea about another version of the Tiki. Is the Tiki commercially a good idea? No. Does the Tiki appeal to my artistic side? Yes! So why not burn time working on a second more complex Tiki instead of getting an important project out of the way?! What the he!!, life sucks, then you die, so why not working on something fun! Okay, okay, enough kvetching, on to the interesting stuff.

When I first posted my blog about the Tiki, I got some encouraging comments. A fellow turner that I respect a lot, Andy Coats, suggested I continue exploring the form, and another fellow blogger, Ellis Hein, liked the form so much, he made his own version, and I think he really did cool version. I wonder how they will like the new version!

I did not want to make another rectangle version, so I made this Tiki form like an elongated pyramid. I found another chunk of osage orange, and I used my chainsaw to cut out a rectangle, then I marked out all the sides to create a pyramid shape and cut it out on the bandsaw. Next, I used a plane to smooth each of the sides, found the centers on the ends, and put it up on the lathe.

Once mounted up on the lathe, I used a spindle gouge to make the v-cuts on the sides. Again, I did not want the overall shape of this piece to look machine made. It needs to be a bit rough and un-even like it was hacked out of the wood using primitive tools. When I was happy with the v-cuts, I mounted the bottom of the pyramid to a glue block and proceeded to hollow out the form. I am lucky that I did not blow out one of the sides. Since the overall shape was not meant to be machine perfect so the hollowing process was a bit dicey.

Attached to the glue block

Hollowing the form using the laser. Cool huh!

The theme for this piece is a Polynesian style representation of an underwater volcano. I made a number of piercings in the piece of various sizes for an aesthetic reasons, and each side looks somewhat different.

The main feature of the piece is a Polynesian style octopus whose legs extend to the other sides of the piece. I drew the octopus on the piece with a pencil, then painted it with black acrylic paint. There is a hole in the top of the piece out of which flows black lava. I used pyrography to create swirls and then painted over it to make it look more like flowing lava in the shape of flames.

Front side

Left side

The inside of the form is painted red to represent the lava. When you look inside the piece you will see little surprise. At the bottom of the form is an image of a female fire demon. I cut a larger keyhole shape on the backside of the piece to let light in so you could see the red color and fire goddess of the volcano.

The back side

The octopus is the central image so the name of the piece is “King of the Undersea Mountain”. I like this piece, but I think I might have gone a bit overboard with the embellishments, but this is a proto-type.

Your thoughts?

About yaakov

Husband, Abba, Furniture Maker, Turner, Bookseller, and all around working stiff.
This entry was posted in In Yaakov's Workshop and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to The Series Continues…

  1. Paul says:

    Hi Yakkov, I like the art work on the piece. The octopus is really good. What are your thoughts on using abolone/paua shell as a decoration? Volcanic gas bubbling to the surface, perhaps.

    I’d like to see the octopus as as the main decoration on a classical, bottom heavy, hour-glass vase.

    Well done!

    • yaakov says:

      Paul,

      I think it would be really cool to inlay abolone into the piece.

      I have a very large art glass bowl that has the imprints of fish in it. I love the way they appear as shadows when a light shines through it. Too bad it does not have an octopus in it too. The octopus is an interesting creature and one of my favorite sea creatures so I was eager to us that image.

      I’m happy to hear you like the piece. Thanks for commenting!

      yaakov…..

  2. Paul says:

    Sorry, Yaakov. I spelled your name in Aussie english in my first comment. Apologies.

  3. Ellis Hein says:

    I am glad we are not in a competition! I might have to concede the contest. In thinking about why we spend time on such things that take time and probably won’t sell, it hit me that this is why artists always have lived in garretts and starved rather than be untrue to the vision that drives them. As usual, I looked at your photos before reading your text. When I saw this I thought, that looks like a volcano. Anyway, keep going. I like it. My second attempt is nearing completion. Maybe I will have something up about it today or tomorrow?

  4. Andy Coates says:

    It’s good to have you back, Yaakov, and especially exploring your ideas with such great results. From personal experience I know there will be some who don’t “get it”, but that never bothered me and I’m sure it won’t bother you. Keep it up.

  5. Pingback: Square Poker | Wood Turned Art

  6. Ellis Hein says:

    Ok, Yaakov. Finally the vessel is posted on my blog. It is not really an aswer to your present piece, but this is the direction I took in my series. If you are curious, you can see it at Square Poker, http://wp.me/p1oGm8-4Q. Thanks for all the inspiration. Ellis

  7. Mike Schultz Paintings says:

    This is a great piece, Yaakov. Reminds me a bit of H.C. Westermann’s work.

  8. You’re a true artist, my friend. Bravo and Bravo!

  9. When I initially commented I clicked the “Notify me when new comments are added” checkbox and now each time a comment is added I get four e-mails with the same comment. Is there any way you can remove people from that service? Thanks!

  10. Pingback: Where did 2011 go? | Artisan's Call

  11. ann byers says:

    Great piece and I love your art work. Keep those creative juices running. Love you lots, Mom.

Leave a Reply

