Hinging on help

I’ll be the first to admit that I don’t know everything about woodworking, so when part of this project needed to be perfect, I reached out for help. The problem: hinges on overlay doors. Whenever I make some type of cabinet doors, I make inset doors. Inset doors are set inside the face frame of the carcass. The portal Aron Kodesh needed overlay doors, meaning that the doors rest on top of the carcass face frame.

Making floating panel doors is easy enough , but mounting doors has always been tricky at best for me, so I decided that I would call a friend of mine who is a cabinet maker, and they do overlay doors all the time right? Eli Szojchet was nice enough to come over and help me out; after all, this is a commission for HaShem, so I wanted these doors mounted perfectly.

Using test boards and a drill press with a 35mm forstner bit, he showed me how to determine how far from the inside edge of the door the 35mm holes should be drilled.

Forstner bits, named after their inventor, Benjamin Forstner, bore precise, flat-bottomed holes in wood, in any orientation with respect to the wood grain. They can cut on the edge of a block of wood, and can cut overlapping holes. Because of the flat bottom to the hole, they are useful for drilling through veneer already glued to add an inlay. They require great force to push them into the material, so are normally used in drill presses or lathes rather than in portable drills. Unlike most other types of drill bits, they are not practical to use as hand tools.

Once we determined that measurement, we set up a straight edge along the back of the drill press table and used a long test board to make sure the all three hinges on one side would all be perfectly flush with the side of the carcass. It took some tweaking by mere 32nds of an inch to get it right, so I felt pretty good when our “jig” was set up perfectly.

After the 35mm holes were drilled on the doors, I made a “stop” for the doors to sit on while I screwed the hinges to the carcass.  To determine the stop, I had laid the carcass down, put the doors on top of it and carefully used a combination square to determine the exact placement of the door in relation to the bottom of the carcass. This provided the correct thickness of the “stop.”

With all the finish work completed, it was an easy matter to attached the other half of the hinges to the door panels. With a little bit of tweaking the adjustment screws of the hinges, I now have two door panels that fit quite nicely. Whewwwww!

 

 

 

A friend of mine who is a really talented carver agreed to make a special piece for the top of the Aron Kodesh. I can’t wait to see how he does it! More on that later.

I do like to figure things out for myself sometimes, but when it comes to a ticking clock and a commission for HaShem, I know I did the right thing by reaching out for help.

So how often do you reach out for help?

One grateful yaakov……

About yaakov

Husband, Abba, Furniture Maker, Turner, Bookseller, and all around working stiff.
This entry was posted in In Yaakov's Workshop and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Hinging on help

  1. alvtAlviti says:

    Nice looking cabinet
    I often “reach” for help by phoning the man who trained me to be a carpenter (who has become one of my best friends). The funny thing is he probably phones me just as often now- I guess we both value each others opinion.
    Could I show my ignorance and ask who/what the HaShem is?

    • yaakov says:

      Hi there! HaShem in Hebrew means “The name.” An orthodox jew never says aloud a “name” of G_d unless they are praying from the prayer book (sidur), or saying psalms (tehillim). Using “HaShem” prevents us from taking His name in vain.
      Let me know if you have further questions.
      Be well,
      yaakov….

  2. Alviti says:

    Thanks for that – Its always interesting to learn about other cultures and religions.
    I always enjoy your blog
    Thanks

Leave a Reply

