Nu?

I’m not dead (yet), and I haven’t given up on my blog (yet), and I will start writing again once things settle down a bit.  OSHA has ordered me to put safety rails on my back because so many people are riding my ass right now.

So what’s going on? My day job is KILLING ME, I’m not sleeping well because of (you know who), it is like an oven in my shop, and oh yes! I started another business, because a full-time job, a Book Business, a Customer Furniture business, four little kids and a new baby is not keeping me busy enough. So what’s the new business you might ask yourself? Go ahead, ask. I’ll wait………………….

Okay, okay. I’ll tell you. I have partnered up with a family friend to create the “Maryland Artisan Guild.” It is an agency for various types of artists. We will represent them and help them (and myself) with Shows and publicity. More on this as we emerge. If you live in the U.S. and are interested in this, let me know.

In the Shop (aka, the Oven), I have been working on making more turned lidded boxes. I had a commission for twelve of these earlier in the year, and they liked them so much, they asked for twelve more. They are given as gifts for large charitable donors (not heavy donor but…).  You can see what they look like here: https://fbyaakov.wordpress.com/2011/03/03/done-at-last-done-at-last/

Aside from being so busy, I think I have a touch of writers block since I am so stressed. I gave serious thought about going back to drinking on a usual basis, but a night of heavy puking brought me back to my senses. Besides, regular drinking costs a lot. Sleep isn’t an option, so I have been cranking my YouTube music playlist in an effort to sooth the savage beast. I have enough commission work that I need to get the muse back and start drawing out ideas again while I am doing the boring work.

Finally, I’ve been thinking about what I’d really like to build when I get the time. (Ha! Like that will ever happen) And I’d like to build an authentic Morris Chair, or get a book about antique Chinese furniture and make an interesting Asian piece.

What would you like to make given the time and the money?

About yaakov

Husband, Abba, Furniture Maker, Turner, Bookseller, and all around working stiff.
This entry was posted in In Yaakov's Workshop and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Nu?

  1. bob says:

    I just want to turn the perfect bowl.

Leave a Reply

