Time for trucks

Every once in a while, I have a day when there is no pressing commission work, and no pressing spec work to do. It does not happen very often, but July 4th gave me once such moment. The older girls were all at camp, so there was no family activity to do, so I jumped on the moment to make something special for my son. (belated 2nd birthday present)

Being the only boy with four sisters means there is a house full, and I mean FULL, of girl toys. So felt it was incumbent upon me to make the boy a truck. Wood magazine featured an article on making a toy truck and it looked easy enough, or so I thought. Granted there was nothing really hard about making the parts, it was just time consuming. Making the tires was the most time consuming part. Thank goodness I am a turner! It took me the better half of four hours to make the truck. I can’t imagine how long it would have taken if I followed the plans to the letter. It is not a fine piece of woodworking, but it is a fine truck if I don’t say so myself, and both males in the Bar Am family have enjoyed playing with it.

Boy toys!

FbY Trucking comes to town

About yaakov

Husband, Abba, Furniture Maker, Turner, Bookseller, and all around working stiff.
This entry was posted in In Yaakov's Workshop and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Time for trucks

  1. bob says:

    Great looking son and truck.

  2. Lazy Larry says:

    Flash truck and handsome son… looks like he will have many years of pleasure with the truck..

  3. Ellis Hein says:

    Where is the picture of you playing with the truck?

Leave a Reply

