Cha cha cha changes

This week, I have been working on a spec project while I wait for the results of a bid. At the beginning of May, I got a long thick walnut board that was in a scrap heap, so I thought I better put it to use while I had the time and the inspiration. I’ll talk about the project more in another blog.

You know, it’s one thing to take your time when you are building a project for yourself, and another thing when you are working on a time and materials commission. This project is somewhat in between. I don’t want to overload the hours on it, then I might feel bad when I have to sell it for less than my time, but then again, I don’t need to pour on the speed and efficiency.  And this is where I find myself, and here in lies topic of this blog. “I am really changing.”

So there I am, happily working away on the project, when it comes time to make a couple of mortises. I pull up my saw bench to the workbench and lay out the location of the mortises, and before I know it, I am chiseling in the outline of the mortise, then I pick up my mortising chisel and start to work. WHAT THE HE!!. Why am I doing this by hand!? Normally, I would use my hollow mortise chisel machine in a heart beat, or I would use my drill press to do most of the work. But no! I think about it for a second or two, and quietly go back to work chiseling out the mortise.  Come to think about it, I have cut all the tenons for this project by hand, and all the bridal joints too. Normally, I would do all this on my bandsaw or table saw with my tenoning jig. Quiet hand tool work is taking me over! RUN!!!!

I am sure I will be back to my normal methods when the time press is back on. I guess I will just enjoy the ride until then.

See you next time at the bench,

Yaakov….

About yaakov

Husband, Abba, Furniture Maker, Turner, Bookseller, and all around working stiff.
This entry was posted in In Yaakov's Workshop and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Cha cha cha changes

  1. I like the hand work, Yaakov. I have the drills, Foredoms and what not all in the basement. But, hand work is the most satisfying.

  2. Lazy Larry says:

    Yaakov, you are going over to the Dark Side…

    • yaakov says:

      Give into your fear Lazy Larry! Feel the power of the hand tools! Joint me! And together we can make furniture and RULE THE BLOG-IS-SPHERE!

  3. Shannon says:

    (wicked smile through steepled fingers) Excellent! You have chosen wisely grasshopper

Leave a Reply

