Blah blah blah

Yes, I know I have not been diligent about writing lately, but I need, and still need a break. Between Passover and Shavuot (starting tonight), we do not listen to music. Frankly, THIS IS KILLING ME! A world without music to a former professional musician is torture! I am sick of audio books and ESPN radio.  After the Shavuot holiday, I am going to be cranking the toones, so watch out eardrums, each peach pear plum, ready or not here they come! Writing is so much easier with my headphones on, listening to my YouTube music playlist.

Near the end of the 49 days of the Omer, I am like a fish caught up in a shrinking pond. My muse has long since abandoned me, and I feel as colorful as a grey piece of paper. Thank goodness this torture will soon end.

And now, something completely different:

I put in a bid to make all the big furniture for a synagogue, so I will need all the inspiration and energy that music provides. If I get the job, I will have a whole lot of work to get done in a short amount of time. Here is what has to be done translated into the language of a non-woodworker: blah, blah, blah, blah, a lot of money, blah, blah, blah blah, 4 cans of sardines, blah, blah, blah, blah, wood, blah blah blah hot sweaty man, blah blah blah. Well, that about sums it up.

On a lighter note, I did make a jewelry box for my daughter, Lailah, with my new workbench and a scrap piece of Bolivian Mahogany. Two words; LOVE IT! OMG, I simply adore my workbench. I am so happy with it. (picture any dancing from “Fiddler on the Roof”, and that is me in my workshop now). I used one of the jewelry box designs from Popular Woodworking, since I was in no mood to design something myself. I like it, and more importantly, she spent a lot of time in the shop with me watching me make it. It was good to have some father daughter time.

Yesterday, I was turning a bowl, and my 23 month old son came in with my oldest daughter. He likes to name all tools he sees in the shop. He tells me what they are, and informs me that they are either off or on, and points to shavings on the floor and says “Mess!” My 9 year daughter asked me where the drill press was, so I told her to ask Asher, he waddled over there and pointed to it right away. I hope this is a good omen that he will want to be a woodworker like me.

Once my muse decides to check back in, I’ll be back.

your favorite cold fish,

yaakov……

About yaakov

Husband, Abba, Furniture Maker, Turner, Bookseller, and all around working stiff.
This entry was posted in In Yaakov's Workshop. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Blah blah blah

  1. Ellis Hein says:

    Yaakov, I am writing this comment while listening to my 16 year-old son practicing cello. You mention that you were a professional musician. What did you play? Some of my best turning has happened when I was also listening to my wife or one of my children playing the cello. Somehow, for me, live music makes a difference.

    Judiasim is outside my experience. So I know very little about what you describe, even though I love much of what we call The Old testament scriptures. (I am Quaker)

    I would say your son is well on his way to following in your footsteps. My son was much the same way. If you start now helping him do “woodworking things” he will never know a time when he has not loved the feel of wood and the feel of tools. At least that is my observation from 60 years of living.

    I hope you get your bid.

    Ellis

  2. Yaakov says:

    Ellis,
    I was a rythmn guitar player and lead singer, and I also played keyboards, and trumpet a long time ago. I have been in other woodworkers’ shops who listen to music. I personally don’t play music or the radio in the shop because music can have a powerful effect on me. I am afraid I might start playing air guitar and accidently (h”s) remove a digit. I need all the focus I can get. hahahahahaha

    I appreciate your comments! Keep them coming!
    Be well,

    yaakov…

Leave a Reply

