Newest member of the FbY team

Almost everything I make is for sale, (excluding children according to my wife), and sometimes pieces just end up having a permanent home here, but I am very happy to welcome the Roubo workbench as part of my permanent collection. I have certainly put a lot of hard work and love into it, and I am excited about using it for many years to come. I hope this workbench will last for a generation or two, and I hope whoever uses it next will love it as much as I do.

I subscribe to a number of woodworking blogs, and I see a growing trend of people creating workbenches like this. In a way, I think building a workbench is somewhat like a rite of passage for woodworkers.

That being said, I’d like to send out a special thanks into the cyber-sphere to Christopher Schwarz for his Workbench books and other writings. I’d also like to thank Shannon Rogers from The Hand Tool School for teaching me how to use my hand tools properly.

Ladies and Gentlemen; I’d like to introduce you to the newest member of the FbY workforce:

My Roubo

I hope you have enjoyed this series, and thanks for all the lovely and funny comments!

About yaakov

Husband, Abba, Furniture Maker, Turner, Bookseller, and all around working stiff.
This entry was posted in On the Bench and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Newest member of the FbY team

  1. Yeeha! Looks great! You’re going to get a lot of enjoyment out of that bad boy. Congratulations on a job well done.

    Love the logo!

  2. Looks great, Yaakov. Mazel tov. I’ll have to take some photos of the ancient work bench I found abandoned in a house. Cleaned up and being used now at my home. John

  3. Lazy Larry says:

    FbY… Flamin’ beauty Yaakov…

  4. Andy Coates says:

    What a great result, Yaakov. Now all you have left to do is crate it up and post it to me!

  5. Shannon says:

    May she bring you as much joy as my own Roubo. This bench has made me a better woodworker and is the MVP in the shop.

  6. That looks very nice. All the right stuff and nothing more. You are going to be a lobbiest for the leg vise from this day forward.

    -Sam

  7. bob says:

    That is a great looking bench, it will last for a long, long time.

  8. Ellis Hein says:

    I ran across your blog on Andy Coates’ blog. I love the looks of your bench. It makes me want one and brings up all the usual reasons for getting something new. “Just think of how much better I could do… if I only had a…” Well, the first thing is to finish building the various structures needed so I can move us out of my shop. Then I can think about such a table. Thanks for showing such a beautiful bench!
    Ellis Hein

    • yaakov says:

      Ellis,

      Now that I am really using the bench, life is good! It really does make a difference for my hand tool use. Since my saw bench was designed for my knee height, I can sit on the saw bench and work EXTREMELY comfortabily at my workbench for close up work.
      I’m flattered that I am getting such nice comments from across the Sea!
      Be well,
      yaakov….

      • Ellis Hein says:

        Yaakov, Well, I am not across the sea. I live near Casper, Wyoming. But I take it as a compliment that you might think my work good enough to qualify as one of those English Turners!

        Ellis

  9. ann (mom) says:

    The workbench is lovely. Maybe it should go into the living room. I’m certain that THE bench is very useful as well as wonderful looking. Thanks for the photo.

  10. James says:

    Very nice! I must admit I am a bit jealous!

Leave a Reply

