Flaming Chop!

Not only can I stand on my bench, I am standing on the shoulders of giants. In particular, the shoulders of Graeme Priddle. I decided to do something that would add my particular stamp to the Roubo workbench, so I turned to the techniques I learned from Graeme to add that special touch.

The chop for the leg vise, now bears my FbY logo. I thought about using an inlay, or perhaps marquetry, or metal leaf, but Graeme’s work inspired me to use his texturing technique. If you look at my logo just so, you will see it contains a dog and a cat. Can you spot them?

To make the logo, I used carbon paper to trace out the logo, then knifed in the lines with an x-acto knife. Next, used my router to route out the letters, then cleaned it up with a chisel.

The Letters routed out

The the branding begin!

Now it was time to add my special touch. Using a special branding stylus, I burned in the swirl pattern within the letters. I have to admit, this is down right fun, aside from the occasional smoke in the eyes. I especially like it when a burst of flames will jump up. I that appeals to the caveman in me. After the branding part was completed, I used a wire brush to remove any loose carbon, then used a tooth brush to apply acrylic paint to make everything black.

Close up of the swirl

After the paint. Do you see the dog and cat?

My son Asher came in for a visit

Well, the next post will be the last for the “On the bench” series. All that is left to do is flatten the top, and apply a finish.

See you next time, on the bench…..

About yaakov

Husband, Abba, Furniture Maker, Turner, Bookseller, and all around working stiff.
This entry was posted in On the Bench and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Flaming Chop!

  1. Andy Coates says:

    Helllllllp! I can’t see the dog or the cat? I’m usually good at these “squint and you’ll see it” things….but I can’t see them! Did you let them out into the garden for some exercise?

    Love the logo BTW.

    • yaakov says:

      I’ll give you a hint. Think of a dog with a long muzzle and a bit of a beard, and look under the top part of the F. You’ll see the dog in profile with part of it’s leg showing.

      The pointy part of the middle of the F is the cat’s right ear. Then you will see the cat as if it were facing you with it’s tail curled up to the right.
      See it?

Leave a Reply

