The home stretch

I’m heading down the home stretch for my Roubo. Hopefully it will be complete early next week, then it will be time to head back to reality. Time to get back to work on repair jobs I’ve been putting off, and it will be time to start hounding down deposits for commission requests.

This project has been fun, but I really need to get back to work because this project put my FbY bank account on its knees. To be honest, it has face planted my bank account in a serious way. I recently got the tuition bill(s) for my kid’s school next year, and it looks like I will need to take on a fourth job either selling crack or participating in medical experiments. Thank goodness the economy is turning around right! Right!? Right???

I won’t “bore” you with details, but I made a nice ship-lapped shelf on the bottom between the stretchers and now I am working on the leg vise chop. Christopher Schwarz had the year put on his 2005 Roubo, so I am adding my own touch. I’m going to brand my chop with my FbY logo. I’ll try to remember to get pictures of the process. I think you will find what I am going to do kinda interesting. More on that later. After the chop is done, all I need to do is add some more dog holes for my hold fast, flatten the top (joy oh joy), and add a touch of finish.

They say TV makes people look bigger, and I think they are right. Pictures make me look fat and grey haired, but I promise you, that is not really what I look like. My (or the) mental picture of me is much (much) younger, and more of the weight is up top and not in the middle, and my hair is kinda blonde and spikey too. I don’t know what the f(*& is wrong with all the cameras around here that make me look so freakin’ old. What does all this have to do with the price of bologna in China? For some reason, the photo’s of my bench makes it look short and squat. It’s really 6′ long, 24″ wide, and very handsome, just like me!

I’m going to make you wait to see the final pictures, so you can see it see it all dressed out and ready for work.

I’ll be keeping the bench warm…..

About yaakov

Husband, Abba, Furniture Maker, Turner, Bookseller, and all around working stiff.
This entry was posted in On the Bench and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment