I’m standing!

The FbY Roubo

Luck is when preparation meets opportunity, and I got lucky yesterday.  The base assembly went together as planned, and my Roubo is now upright. Having all the required tools ready to go and all the mental preparation really paid off.  Even having all the dowel pins pre-waxed paid off too.  They all pounded in so well that I did not even need my drawbore pins. Only one pin cracked on me, and I was still able to drive it home.  And with the help of my next door neighbor, we got the bench turned over. Whoyah!

I still have a number of things left to do on the bench, but I still have a smile on my face knowing the bench is upright. In the mean time, I need to find another strong back to help me rearrange my shop.

I’m not what you call a jolly man, yes I am the class clown, but who said comics are happy happy people.  But I’ll be honest with you, I really felt happy, and still do, about this bench. I sure wish I felt this happy and contented all the time, it’s a good feeling! I guess like most things, good things come after hard work.

See you next time on the bench…..

Before

After!

About yaakov

Husband, Abba, Furniture Maker, Turner, Bookseller, and all around working stiff.
This entry was posted in On the Bench and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to I’m standing!

  1. bob says:

    That is a great looking bench! I will out last you and your kids.

  2. Lazy Larry says:

    You are such a graceful model {last photo}
    I am sorely tempted to make that into a wallpaper for my computer… or not…lol
    Seriously though the bench is coming along a treat…It will indeed be the focal point of your shop…

  3. Dave Barrera says:

    Congrats!!! That looks awesome! I wish I was as far along as you were, but at least now I have someone else who is finished and who I can ask more questions to!!!

  4. Great looking bench, Yaakov. Who’s that guy cluttering the top of your new bench? 🙂 John.

  5. pinksphinx says:

    Beautiful bench!

Leave a Reply

