This is it, the night of nights

Overture, cut the lights, this is it, the night of nights, no more rehearsing, rehearsing  our parts, we know every part by heart. Overture, cut the lights, this is it, we’ll hit the heights. And oh what heights we’ll hit, on with the show this is it! (I hope some of you are old enough to know what this is from without using the hyperlink)

Yes sir, this is it. My next visit to the shop will be the big one. I will be assembling the base and attaching it to the top. I have been rehearsing this in my mind for several days now, which brings me to the topic I would like to discuss; mental pre-occupation/obsession.

I have been doing mental gymnastics regarding the assembly of this bench for the past five days or so, and it is starting to drive me crazy! When I am working or having a conversation, I’m okay, but the moment my attention is not required, or my hands are not occupied, my mind returns back to the assembly.  I am having a hard time davening and learning Talmud, and just plain having a hard time staying focused because I my mind is obsessed with this order of operations problem.  It is not just this project either.  My brain does this to me frequently. And it mostly seems to be order of operations problems.

A lot of the things I make do not have step by step instructions, so it might be a good thing that I can work through, and mentally rehearse, a project step by step. But I wish my brain would give me a break! Is this the first sign that I will end up being a mentally obsessed stalker? It is like a radio in my head, when it is on, man it is on! And I have a very hard time turning it off.  Perhaps I need to learn to mediate or learn how to clear my mind. Do any of you have mental gyrations like this?

As I stated earlier, the bench is ready to be assembled. I have all the dowel pins waxed, all the mortises and tenons have been drilled for the drawboring. The legs have been cleaned up with my beloved #4 LN Smoothing plane, and the deadman has been fit to size. I’m going to assemble the base with the legs up, then find someone to help me flip it over. (My wife is very pregnant and can’t help me right now) I am so excited about having my bench upright! Am I a woodworking nerd or what!

See you next time, on the bench….

About yaakov

Husband, Abba, Furniture Maker, Turner, Bookseller, and all around working stiff.
This entry was posted in On the Bench and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to This is it, the night of nights

  1. bob says:

    It sounds like you have it almost finished. Put a photo up when you get it together.

  2. Lazy Larry says:

    Yaakov, I too build things in my mind.. usually while asleep and when I wake up I wonder why I am so tired…
    I will think of you when it is time to flip the bench…sorry I can’t be there to help.

  3. Don’t worry, I’ve laid awake many a night planning things like this. Don’t underestimate the weight – it’ll be worse than you think. Good luck!

    And yes, I grew up to that wonderful intro. To quote another great – thanks for the memories!

Leave a Reply

