Getting my legs on the ground

Who knew that making the Roubo workbench would be such a workout! Between the hand sawing, hand drilling, the lifting, and all the hand plane work, I’m getting a full day’s worth of exercise!

Overall, the project is fairly straight forward and nothing is seriously complicated, but the project certainly has given me a lot to think about. As I have said before, my bench is a mix of the Roubo that Christopher Schwarz made in 2005 and his 2010 “18th Century workbench”, so I don’t have a real set of plans. Thus I have been getting a complete mental and physically workout. Whoyah!

I am still waiting for my Drawbore Pins to arrive from Lie-Nielsen, so I can’t get the bench completely assembled yet, but I’m close. The legs and stretchers are complete, so now I need to drill the holes for the wooden drawbore pins.

If you don’t know what I am talking about; Drawboring is a way to make a strong mechanical joint. Wooden dowels are hammered through slightly offset holes in the tenons, and thus pulls the joint together. You can use metal Drawbore Pins to pull the joint together with some force and a twisting motion to ease the edges of the offset holes to make driving the wooden dowel pin easier. You can also disassemble the joint and tweak it if you need to before glue up.
Once I get the top attached to the base assembly and everything is pinned tight, I will breathe a sigh of relief.  I’ll still have a fair amount to work to do after that, but at least I’ll know the hard part is done.

Drilling out the mortises for the legs

I’ve been a good boy and I have not had any junk food for sixteen days, so all the physical labor and reduced calorie intake should result in less of me! Talk about putting yourself into your work!

Ready to place

My bench rolled over playing dead

Hope to get my legs on the ground soon!

About yaakov

Husband, Abba, Furniture Maker, Turner, Bookseller, and all around working stiff.
This entry was posted in On the Bench and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Getting my legs on the ground

  1. bob says:

    It’s looks really strong.

  2. Andy Coates says:

    Looking good, Yaakov. I can’t wait to see it completed.

  3. I’m a big fan of drawboring for sturdy joints. If you haven’t used it before, you’re in for a pleasant surprise at the results. Keep us informed.

Leave a Reply

