Scrap transformation complete

Koi Hall Table

Well, the scrap wood hall table is pretty much done. I need a couple more coats of shellac on the top, then a final coat of wax to wrap this project up. All in all, I am happy with the design of the project. I think I managed to find an interesting mix of styles along with my own personal touch.

I really don’t know what more I have to say about project, but here are some of the special things I like about it:

  1. I used tagua nut (vegetable ivory) to plug the screw holes for the top
  2. The Greene & Greene arrangement of the purple heart plugs
  3. The hand cut dovetails for the drawer
  4. The overall design
  5. The use of the koi (coy) on the top
  6. I used up a lot of scrap cherry
  7. I put a lot of my Hand Tool School skills to use

Koi Marquetry

In Japan and China the symbolism of the koi represents perseverance in adversity, determination and strength of purpose. In another variation, the koi symbolizes non-conformism and independence in its willingness to go against accepted currents. It also symbolizes good fortune or good luck. Using good luck to decorate anything important in your life may help you feel more likely to attract good luck. Today the koi has taken on a representation of family in Japan where koi flags are often used to celebrate holidays.

I hope you enjoyed seeing this project come to life and I’d welcome your comments and any constructive criticism.

Top view

Front of the Koi Hall Table

About yaakov

Husband, Abba, Furniture Maker, Turner, Bookseller, and all around working stiff.
This entry was posted in In Yaakov's Workshop and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Scrap transformation complete

  1. Lazy Larry says:

    Get out of here!!… that is just fabulous…. and I love the marquetry…

  2. Very nice – light and airy. I really love the koi marquetry. Good work!

  3. Hi Yaakov,

    Nice job. I do like the koi work. It will grace some hallway nicely. Shalom, John

  4. ann (mom) says:

    I really like the scrap wood table. A very nice design and the koi design is so fantastic. Your work never ceases to amaze me. Stay open minded and creative. You are a marvel at all you do.

  5. Andy Coates says:

    That’s a stunning result, Yaakov. I’d be proud to own it and use it. And all from scrap!

  6. Pingback: Where did 2011 go? | Artisan's Call

Leave a Reply

