Heap o’ learnin’

On March 14th, I wrote about a hollow vessel I was working on, and today I finally completed it. Every time I make something, I like to think that I learned something from it. Well, I did a heap o’ learnin’ with this piece. It’s late, so let’s wrap up what I learned.

Two part hollow form: You gotta love it! Yes, yes, yes, I know that it is not as challenging, but the vessel is super light and it was fairly easy to do. The vessel is about 12.5″ tall and about 5″ wide.

Paint the inside: If you paint the inside with a black acrylic paint, it creates an interesting effect. You look into the vessel and your brain just goes crazy trying to see something in there. Very cool!

Paint the outside: Initially, I did all the metal leafing only to find out that any exposed wood looks crappy if it is a blond wood. So I had to sand all the leaf off, and then I painted the vessel a deep red and applied the metal leaf again. I had planned for bits of exposure and the red worked really well for the overall effect.

I see a red jar and I....

 

 

 

 

 

Metal leafing: It’s fun! I can’t wait to do this again, especially now that I have some practice under my belt.

fun fun fun

 

 

 

 

 

Chemical Patination: It is also fun, but you really HAVE TO have a plan when using this stuff. I am not half bad with a pencil and paper, but I am no abstract artist. Lesson learned? David Marks was right, do a number of practice boards first.

Not all that glitters is silver: I went to Michael’s to stock up on metal leaf. I learned the hard way that a package of silver leaf is not necessarily a package of genuine silver leaf. Therefore the chemicals do not react with it at all, thus foiling my plans! (yes, pun intended) This is not something you want to find out in the eleventh hour of your project. Lesson learned? Make sure you know what you really have. I would have found this out if I had done a practice board with this material first.

Spray finish: Spray acrylic is okay, but spray lacquer is better. I can count the number of warm days we have had since last September on one hand, and thank goodness we had very warm today so I could use spray lacquer. I got six coats on with no runs drips or errors. Tomorrow is back to the fifties and sixties with rain.

Overall: I am kinda of luke warm about the project as a whole. I like the overall shape, I love the rim, but I am only so so over the artistic part of it, but it is growing on me.  Caulk up another Artsy Fartsy piece on the board.

About yaakov

Husband, Abba, Furniture Maker, Turner, Bookseller, and all around working stiff.
This entry was posted in In Yaakov's Workshop and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Heap o’ learnin’

  1. bob says:

    I have never tried any thing like that, it’s different. Let me know how it sells.

  2. Lazy Larry says:

    Not my cup of tea, but nonetheless well done…

Leave a Reply

