California Dreaming

Has anyone seen Spring yet? I personally think someone has moved Baltimore near the Seattle area. As I was working in my shop, with the propane heater going, I sincerely wished I were in California enjoying the warm dry air, thus I was “California Dreaming.”

David Marks and me in his California Shop

 

On my scrap wood project, I am working on the stopped dados which will hold the drawer sides. I am making the stopped dados pretty much like I made the dados in the legs. (this time the correct size) Doing this by hand, certainly gives you time to think, but then again, it really focuses your mental and physical efforts too. I like that, it helps take me away from the everyday stresses of life. Once again, I could have done this with a power tool, but I wanted to put my new found skills from “The Hand Tool School” to use. Besides, this cold weather is keeping me from doing the chemical patination work I am planing to do and a couple of other project to boot.

So as I stood there carefully knifing in my lines, making the grooves for the first-class saw cuts, paring out the waste with a chisel, and routing out the bottom nice and flat, I had time to ponder the age old question: How come I always have to go the bathroom AFTER I get all bundled up on my thermal underwear, multiple shirts, and jacket. Hmmmm, mankind may never know……

About yaakov

Husband, Abba, Furniture Maker, Turner, Bookseller, and all around working stiff.
This entry was posted in In Yaakov's Workshop and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to California Dreaming

  1. Andy Coates says:

    Still cold in the workshop here, Yaakov. I thought I’d have seen the last of burning offcuts and shavings by now. Apparently not. Still, it does help keep the shavings down. We did have a spot of sun this afternoon, and the daffodils seemed to enjoy it.

Leave a Reply

