Old fashioned flying

You want to know what I think separates me from the real woodworking masters? I prefer to fly by the seat of my pants, and I guess that is why the little details of a true master’s work really separate the men from the boys.

Case in point; the project I am making from scraps. I completed the milling work today.

Before

After

 

 

 

 

Now a real master would have carefully looked at the grain pattern of each and every piece of wood. Do they look alike where they need to be? How will this grain look next to this? And so on….. Me, I take what I have and use it. Don’t get me wrong, I do watch for display sides and such forth. But for me, part of the fun is letting my muse take over and just create. When I was a professional musician and songwriter (ASCAP member too thank you), my best work always came from quick flashes of inspiration and going with the flow. When I tried to force it whilst ‘uninspired’ the work was never as good.

Like everyone else, I learn from every piece I make, and sometimes I look at a completed piece and realize, I should have used a tighter grained piece here, or man oh man I can see a sanding mark there.  At least I am smart enough to know that I am learning from my mistakes.

Now that I have all the stock ready, I want to draw out all the joinery. I think I might attempt sliding dovetails for some of the joinery. Once I get the plans finalized, I’ll take a snap of my plans so you can see what I am trying to make.

I know that some of you think that I should do this via sketch-up, but I prefer to hand draw my plans.  I spend enough time on the computer already.  Besides, I can make quick on the fly changes to a hand drawn plan.  I don’t have a cell phone, I don’t have an iPod or an iPad or an iPhone, for the same reasons I don’t like the iRaq or the iRan. I have no use for any of them. I guess I am turning old-fashioned.

Speaking of old-fashioned, I am really pleased with all my hand plane work for this project. Hand tools rock!

Over and out…..

About yaakov

Husband, Abba, Furniture Maker, Turner, Bookseller, and all around working stiff.
This entry was posted in In Yaakov's Workshop and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Old fashioned flying

  1. bob says:

    I am a very low tech person too.

  2. Lazy Larry says:

    Very Punny… iRaq and iRan…
    I am watching to see which way this project will fly…
    There is nothing wrong with going with the flow…

Leave a Reply

