Monkeys and My Art

What can I say, life has a grip on those safety rails on my back and is interferring with my blogging. I won’t bore you with the details of my monkeys, but I have started on a new project that I would like to tell you about.

As most of you know, David Marks is my woodworking hero, and I have been intrigued by his gilding and chemical patination workAfter I got paid for my last commissioned work, I sent off for David’s “Gilding and Chemical Patinations” DVD and the Metal Leaf and Patination Kit. That money was burning a hole in my pocket so I had to spend it fast! I am sure most of you understand.

I have decided that 2011 will be my year for more artistic turned pieces.  Not to say that I won’t turn a bowl every now and then, but I want to focus on more artsy fartsy pieces (excuse the technical language). Why? Because I want to! Plus the fact that my artistic pieces sell better than my bowls, and I want to spend more time with my muse this year.

For my inaugural piece, I made a tall hollow vessel made of ash, and I made a lovely ebony rim for it. To ease the hollowing process, I did it in two pieces.  First, I turned the overall piece from one large piece of ash (say that three times fast in front of a lady and see if you don’t get slapped), then I parted it in a strategic location, and in effect ‘turned’ it into a lidded box. I used my boring bar to get the walls nice and thin and keep the overall weight down. Before permanently attaching the top part to the bottom, I used acrylic paint to make the entire inside of the piece black. And let me tell you, when you look down into this piece, it is like looking into a Black Hole! You see NOTHING! It’s really kinda neat.

Now I am trying to decide how I will gild it and what patination process to use. I’ve got a few practice boards ready, so now I need to wait for a somewhat sunny day with a bit warmer temps. I hope that will happen this week. 

More to come!

About yaakov

Husband, Abba, Furniture Maker, Turner, Bookseller, and all around working stiff.
This entry was posted in In Yaakov's Workshop and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Monkeys and My Art

  1. bob says:

    Sounds like fun. Hope to see it soon.

  2. This is another level! Love to see your works!

    Peace,
    Jake

  3. Andy Coates says:

    I’m looking forward to some arty farty Yaakov pieces! Come one, get busy and post one.

    • yaakov says:

      Sorry to correct you, but that is “Artsy Fartsy”🙂
      I am itchy to get started, but I need more sizing and my order should be here any day now.
      Of course, my version of artsy fartsy is not in the same league as your work. I am so glad you did not stop with your blog!
      yaakov….

  4. Pingback: Heap o’ learnin’ | Artisan's Call

Leave a Reply

