Overdue book reviews

It has been a while since I have posted anything, but I promise I have a good excuse. I’ll let you guess what it is in the form of a multiple choice question.

Yaakov has not written anything lately because:

  1. I have had nothing interesting to say
  2. Too tired
  3. We got an Xbox with our tax refund
  4. all of the above

If  you picked ‘4‘ you are correct! BTW, If you want to see the Sun again, don’t get an Xbox. (We got it for the fitness games, mumble mumble and Halo too)

I do have a number of things to write about now, but for today I want to do some quick book reviews as promised.

The Joiner and the Cabinet Maker

I really enjoyed this book. Not only is there an interesting story about an 1830’s Joiner’s Apprentice, the book also give a lot of historical background about life in England during that time period. It was interesting to learn how our hero “Thomas” performs his trade. He learned all about the tools and techniques that I am learn now via the Hand Tool School and other sources. It is good to know I am learning tried and true woodworking techniques.

The book also has a section written by Christopher Schwarz that illustrates how he made all the projects the hero of the book made. At first, I was not going to read that part of the book, but I am really happy I did. Firstly, because it is full of really good advice, and secondly, I just really like Christopher Schwarz’s writing. He is a great writer and pretty funny too. Man, this guy is really becoming a really good woodworking role model for me.

If you are looking for a good woodworking read, I suggest you get this book. I ordered an autographed copy from “The Lost Art Press“.

The Essential Woodworker by Robert Wearing

This book is a must have for your woodworking library. The first page of the Introduction pulled me right in. Here is a paragraph that really says it all:

This is really a pre-textbook. It is aimed mainly at those working alone. The apprentice has the guidance of a master craftsman, while the college student has tutors. Keen amateurs, often working in total isolation, lack this advantage. It is hoped that this book will start them off soundly, so that they will soon be able to take full advantage of good technical books; and if not designing original work, beginners will be competent to work from books of designs, drawings and magazine articles.”

I wish I had known about this book in 1990. The first chapter alone is worth the price of the book. A number of the woodworkers I am learning from have been studying Robert Wearing. Further confirmation that I am on the right track for my continuing woodworking education.

I got my copy from “The Lost Art Press”. BTW, they have a lot of good books. You should check out their website.

If you get either of these books, let me know what you thought of them.

About yaakov

Husband, Abba, Furniture Maker, Turner, Bookseller, and all around working stiff.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Overdue book reviews

  1. Pingback: Overdue book reviews | Artisan's Call | eBook Reviews

  2. I have enjoyed both of those books immensely, especially Wearing. I learn something new every time I open it.

Leave a Reply

