Done at last, done at last!

Around the beginning of January, I started a series of blogs about making turned lidded Tzedakah boxes. Well, after many a trial and error, I finally got the artwork completed on the boxes, and they look great.

Laser engraving was the way to go, and it was a pretty fast process. If you are in the Baltimore area and you want, or need, some laser engraving done, then I can not recommend, Bill Neuenschwander enough. Very friendly, and very fast. All I had to do was get the digital logo and boxes to him, and he completed the work and delivered to my front door in about twenty four hours. (BTW, I am not getting a commission for plugging this guy).

The results speak for themselves.

I learned a number of things from this project. I got a lot more experience with my boring bar system, and I got a better idea of what type of wood movement I should expect with thin walled vessels. I got about 30 uses from a single glue block which surprised me. I normally use chucks, but I decided to use glue blocking for this project, and it worked very well. And finally, I got to turn a variety of exotic woods that I generally would not use. For this project I used: Olivewood, a figured Asian Satinwood, Jebillo, Yucatan Rosewood, Osage Orange, and Marblewood. All of the boxes have a walnut base except for one that has a cherry base.

If I make something like these again, I want to make them with a threaded top. Our next turning club meeting is going to have someone demo that process for us. I am looking forward to learning that technique.

Until next time, happy turnings!

About yaakov

Husband, Abba, Furniture Maker, Turner, Bookseller, and all around working stiff.
This entry was posted in In Yaakov's Workshop and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Done at last, done at last!

  1. Slissie says:

    These are beautiful Yaakov! I would love to hear more about your boring bar system.

    Thank you,
    S Lissie

  2. Pingback: Nu? | Artisan's Call

Leave a Reply

