I need a personal reset button

Dear Diary,

Lately I have felt like an 8088 processor in an Intel Xeno world. As you know, I am not the best multi-tasker, and right now, I have so many tasks going on, that if you looked closely into my eyes you would see the computer hourglass in there, with the dear in headlights expression on my face.

I start feeling this way when I am overloaded. OSHA (Occupational Safety and Health Administration) has order me to put safety rails on my back because so many people and things are riding my a## right now. So the major side effect is my inability to focus, and the only cure is either get in the shop for a full day or Shabbos.

So what is causing this? It is actually a good thing, too much work and too many meetings, and too many emails on all fronts. I’ve been working on a very artistic piece for most of the week that I hope will be completed on Sunday.  Aside from drying times, I simply just can’t get enough time in the shop to get this piece finished, and it is really stressing me out. And when I am stressed, my muse takes a hike.

In addition, I have lost weeks of time on a large commission waiting for the logo work to be done, and that is really starting to pi## me off. I need that commission money to get to my next big project.  To make matters worse, this project is preventing me from getting started on other jobs.  

I seriously hope I can finish up a number of loose ends soon, because the March to-do list is looming very large.

Thanks for letting me get this off my chest, and I hope to be talking about serious woodworking soon.

yaakov….

About yaakov

Husband, Abba, Furniture Maker, Turner, Bookseller, and all around working stiff.
This entry was posted in In Yaakov's Workshop. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I need a personal reset button

  1. Tom Tabor says:

    Don’t apologize for this post! I think sometimes we forget that we are part of a Community. A community based on Wood of course, but still, it is a group of people that have similar interests and, as is usually the case, similar things going on in their own lives. Work is kicking my hind end this week. Crazy demands, sliding deadlines, last minute changes to things that were supposed to have been signed off on and done. Essentially a normal work week.

    I think maybe you do have a reset button. You just pressed it..right up there in your post. I bet pressing it made you feel better.

    Oh, and I am stealing the “Safety Rails on My Back” line. I am still laughing about that visual.

    Have a great weekend, Yaakov.

Leave a Reply

