Lie-Nielsen, darn well worth it!

I have been saving my pennies, and even more pennies for a new plane. You know, I have been working really hard and putting in some really long stressful days for the past couple of months, so I decided it was time to treat myself. And oh yes, I deserve a special treat because now I am the new Vice-President of the Baltimore Area Turners club! 

I have been looking for a Scrub Plane, so I have been going around and around for a couple of months about which route I should take. Should I go on eBay and buy an old Stanley #4 and refurbish it?  Or should I buy a cheap plane and turn it into a scrub plane. Or perhaps I could just buy a new one. If I bought an old plane, I know I would spend a couple of hours lapping the sole and cleaning it up, and I would have to buy a new blade too. If I bought a cheap plane, I’d still have to spend time filing the mouth to enlarge it, and chances are, I would still buy a better blade. Then if I bought a new blade, I’d have to spend time getting it shaped and sharpened correctly. So I figured out the potential cost of the plane, plus a new blade, plus the number of hours I would spend with refirbishment multiplied by my hourly rate, and you know what? In the end, for me and my situation, it would be cheaper to buy a new plane.

Just in case you don’t know, a Scrub Plane removes large quantities of wood in a hurry. In the past, Scrub Planes were used like a Thickness Planer to take rough-sawn boards down to size, before finishing with a Jack Plane and a Smooth Plane.

As most of you know, Lie-Nielsen is my favorite tool-maker, but I like the Veritas tools too. Each company sells a Scrub Plane, but I went with Lie-Nielsen. Although the Lie-Nielsen is a bit more expensive, the fact that they are an American company, and their customer service is freakin’ fantastic, won me over. Oh yes, don’t forget their outstanding YouTube videos too. For those of you who remember Curtis Mathis TV’s, their slogan was, “The most expensive television set in America; and darn well worth it.” Well, I believe that Lie-Nielsen is darn well worth it.

When I placed my order, the lady who took the order was incredibly friendly, and when I told her that I wanted to order a scrub plane, she promptly said that they were making those today, so most likely they did not have one to ship right away. However, they will ship out a freshly made one this afternoon or tomorrow morning at the latest. Wow! It’s kinda like “Hot Fresh Doughnuts” from Krispy Kreme! Everytime I have placed an order with Lie-Nielsen, I receive my order in about two days and the customer service is simply outstanding.

I’m the type of guy who is loyal. If I do business with you, and you treat me right with good service and a good product, I’m yours. I will sing your praises to my friends and family, and I will continue to be your loyal customer. But the first time I get something from a company and they are not friendly or the product is inferior, it will take a very very long time for me to forget and forgive.

So when it comes to Lie-Nielsen, I gladly sing their praises and can not recommend them enough. I simply adore all the tools I have ordered from them. Of course, I will be sure to share a picture of me with my new scrub plane when it comes in. Oh boy! I feel like Chanukah is coming again, only this time it won’t be socks and pencils!

About yaakov

Husband, Abba, Furniture Maker, Turner, Bookseller, and all around working stiff.
This entry was posted in In Yaakov's Workshop and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Lie-Nielsen, darn well worth it!

  1. Carl Nobles says:

    Keep me posted on that scrub plane. I’d love to be able to try an L-N one up next to my cheapie that I reported on in my blog at http://carlswoodworking.wordpress.com/
    – Carl

    • yaakov says:

      Carl,

      I still have not had the chance to really put it through its paces, but all my toying with it have been very successful. Commission work is getting in the way of my play time!

      Once I put it through real world applications, I’ll let you know how it does.

      yaakov….

  2. paloarte says:

    Congrats my dearest friend!🙂

  3. Tom Santopietro says:

    I agree. I received a Lie_Nielson brass #4 as a very special Christmas gift. It is a spectacular plane. It is so good to hear your comment “the fact that they are an American company”. I was beginning to think I was the only one who considered that fact. Enjoy your new plane.
    Where are the Lie-Nielson videos? I am not really familiar with You Tube so I usually don’t go there.

    Tom

  4. ayelign says:

    amezing talent

  5. John Peterson says:

    I only own a Lie Neilsen dove tail saw and it is awesome. as time passes, i will be purchasing several planes from Lie Neilsen. I am greatfull we have an American tool manufacturer and Lie Neilsen is second to none

Leave a Reply

