Two hours a week!?

Two hours a week, that’s right! My student and I are going to make the “Elegant Display Cabinet” featured on the cover of Woodcraft Magazine.

My student

For the past couple of months, I have had this fourteen year old yeshiva boy, come to learn woodworking from me for a couple of hours each Sunday. So on Sunday, January 9th (the day of “The Woodworking Show”) my student and his father show up at my shop, and plop this Woodcraft magazine down, and his father says, “Can you two build this Display Cabinet together?” I pick up the magazine, and look at the guy on the cover, and I think to myself. “Man, this guy looks familiar.” I open up the magazine, and wouldn’t you know, it’s Geoffrey Noden (yes! the inventory of the Inlay Razor) and wouldn’t you know, I just spoke with him a couple of hours ago! I talked to him about his Inlay Razor system. What a coincidence!

Well, to make a long story short, we decided that we would build this project together, and even make it out of Mahogany like the plans call for. The project is not simple, and it will be a challenge and a lot of work, but in the end, I am sure my student will really appreciate all the work he put into it. So, we have two hours every Sunday to work on the project, and since that is a challenge in of itself. I have decided to record the project in my blog.

My favorite thing about this project is that we are using Mahogany. I went to Free State Timbers and found a nice 6/4 piece of certified Mahogany and so project begins!

Our first step was to start milling. You know, milling is actually one of my favorite parts of a project. Picking out the right sections, cross cutting, re-sawing, using my planes, the smell of napalm in the morning. Oops! I meant the smell of freshly cut lumber in the shop. It is also time for a lot of hands on work for the student, and just like the Hokey Pokey, that’s what it is all about. My goal was to get most of the milling work done for the sides and the top and bottom. We got a chunk of the work done, but we still have a ways to go, including re-saw work. At least he got to use the Radial Arm saw, the Jointer, the Drum Sander, the Table Saw, and he also got to work with my beloved planes.

I have never made a project out of Mahogany before, and now I understand why woodworkers love it so. It is a dream to work with, and it planes beautifully. Walnut! You will have to step down to the number two position as my favorite wood to work with.  

More coming about the project next week……

About yaakov

Husband, Abba, Furniture Maker, Turner, Bookseller, and all around working stiff.
This entry was posted in Two hours a week and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Two hours a week!?

  1. Lazy Larry says:

    I too love the smell of napalm in the morning … or in my case the smell of cordite from the firing of the 4.5 inch guns on board a Destroyer… I digress…
    This sounds like a wonderful learning process for both of you… I an eager to see the future episodes…

Leave a Reply

