The Woodwright’s Shop

This year marks the 30th season of “The Woodwright’s Shop.” This show started when I was about seventeen years old. (Wow! That makes me feel old!) I can’t say that I have seen most of the episodes, but I have seen a lot of them. Even though I watched the show, it was never one of my favorites, because it was all hand tool based, and I was soley a power tool user. That being said, this past year I have begun to appreciate this show more and more. Since I enrolled in the “The Hand Tool School” my interest in the show has greatly increased.  I knew that Roy Underhill was was one heck of a woodworker and teacher, but I did not know he was a writer too. I recently read an article he wrote about Roubo in the February 2011 issue of Popular Woodworking magazine, and I have to say that he is a good writer too.

Roy has a workshop in Pittsboro, NC where he offers classes, and my in-laws just so happen to live not so far from there. Perhaps I could sneak in some training the next time we go for a visit.

BTW, I am looking forward to seeing Christopher Schwarz, editor of Popular Woodworking Magazine, on “The Woodwright’s Shop” when he will be a guest for a couple of episodes this season!

Side Note: Do you really want to know about working with wood? Then I can not recommend the The Hand Tool School enough. I admitted in an earlier blog that I could not really read grain for planning work. Now I can! I have been woodworking for a long time, and it surprises me how much more I have learned. I am still not caught up with all the lesson plans, but I have been making some gains lately, and that’s okay. You participate at your own pace. I encourage you to check it out. Click on the link above to learn more.

About yaakov

Husband, Abba, Furniture Maker, Turner, Bookseller, and all around working stiff.
This entry was posted in Woodworking TV Shows and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Woodwright’s Shop

  1. Lazy Larry says:

    As soon as I have a free hour I will be watching the intro/preview… thanks for bringing this to my attention… I too am looking at killing less electrons this year…

Leave a Reply

