For Love and Money

Sometimes you gotta do what you just gotta do. And that includes work that you just have to do.

For someone who feels naturally grumpy, and looks grumpy, dusty and hairy on the outside, I can be a real softy on the inside. And whether I like it or not, I have a hard time saying “no.” For example, doing repair work. I frequently get asked to repair furniture and other wooden things. When I get approached to do this work, my brain is ready to push the button entitled “Feets do your stuff!” However, nine times out of ten, I stand there frozen to the spot and say “okay” while my brain is frantically pushing the broken “Shut the Mouth” button.

I really do not like repairing furniture, and I guess I dislike it the same way I don’t like repeating my work. Woodworking is an expression of my artistic side, and repairing furniture is like handing a bucket of paint and a brush to an artist and asking them to paint a room. I don’t want you to get the impression that I am all “upty” about my work; I’ll be the first to admit that I can’t shake a stick without hitting someone who is just as good or better than me. I don’t like production work, and I don’t like repair work.

That being said, so why do I take the work? Money, clams, cash, green backs, dough, bread, bucks, benjamins, scratch etc…. Well, I guess you get the picture. Yeah man, I am doing what I gotta do to support my tool habit and pay bills. About repeating myself, I don’t mind making a couple of bowls the same shape to make a series, but man alive, I’d go crazy if I had to do that all day. I frequently get ask, “Why don’t you make about hundred of these and sell them?” My inner monologue says, “because my wife does not want me to shoot myself.” But what comes out of my mouth is “well, errrr, cause, it all boils down to space and time. I don’t have the space and I don’t have the time with all my other commission pieces and planned projects.” In my brain, I imagine that production work looks somewhat like this. (make sure to view this link, you won’t be sorry).

I know that HaShem (G_d) gave me a gift, and I prefer to use my gift to make beautiful things from the inspiration He gives me, and I guess He is also sending the repair work my way for a reason too, so I will just go on and do what I gotta do.

About yaakov

Husband, Abba, Furniture Maker, Turner, Bookseller, and all around working stiff.
This entry was posted in In Yaakov's Workshop and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to For Love and Money

  1. bob says:

    I liked the link. It was funny!

  2. Kendall says:

    Your blog is so refreshing to read. I was mentally exhausted and just reading the blog made me laugh – and then I saw the link. You have a great sense of humor!

  3. Funny video, Yaakov. I know what you mean. Friends and family have often wondered why I don’t listen to them and carve all the things everyone wants me to make. I have lists of things – animals, chess sets, farm scenes, modern art…..lists go on. But, I can’t feel creative that way. So, I take their names, and tell them to expect to hear from me when, if the project is completed. I have a day job so I am not dependent on the carving for bills. But, I like the freedom to carve as creativity strikes me. I, too, believe that the creativity I have is given by the Creator. It doesn’t turn on and off with a switch. Shalom, John

  4. cobweb says:

    I know just how you feel, Yaakov. Today I accepted a job I shouldn’t have…two replacement rails for a river boat. Why! Because the bills have to be paid. But I’ll get no pleasure from making them. Oh well.

    Last year I had a query for a run of over 2,000 fittings in Elm – they were for an oil company (don’t ask) – anyway, for the same reasons as above I proced the job. £5000 ($8,000?) for the wood alone! And three solid weeks (if I worked fast and true) of turning the same odd article. I was relieved when they didn’t make the order…three weeks!

    Give me two days playing with an idea and I’m pretty much content no matter what the outcome. But then I remember the bills and agree to repair a table, or a chair, or make a display cab, or re-finish a table…or something else mind numbing.

    I’ll have to start doing the lottery. And when I win I can lock the door and play until the day I die without worrying about bills and without having to stoop to repairs and repetative commissions.

    250 door knobs anybody?

  5. cobweb says:

    sorry…”proced” should be “priced”…doh!

Leave a Reply

