Let’s go to base camp!

Warning! This post will be somewhat dry if you are not a woodworker, so if you are not into it, you can check out this video about not Being Boring. (it is certainly not a boring video!)

Okay, now it is time to make a base for the turned lidded tzedakah box. I found a piece of scrap walnut and cut out a square larger than the base of the turned box, then glued it to my glue block which is attached to a face plate.

 

Scrap walnut on glue block

 

 

 

 

 

Using a parting tool, I carefully create an inset for the box to fit into. For a bit of decoration, I added a couple of beads to the walnut base and sanded it smooth.

 

Making the inset

Beading the base

 

 

 

 

 

Now that the base is done, I detach it off the glue block with a quick tap of a mallet and chisel, then clean the glue off the bottom. I turn my attention back to the top. Since the top is hollowed out, I use my four jaw chuck to mount up the top and expand the jaws to hold it tight from the inside. Now I can clean up the CA glue with a couple of quick passes with a sharp gouge.

 

The top mounted to a chuck

 

 

 

 

 

The final construction step is to use my hollow mortise chisel machine to cut a slot for the money to drop in. Next, glue the base to the box, pop on the top, and your done!

Making the slot

Construction is complete

 

 

 

 

 

The boxes need to have the logo for Ahavas Yisrael on them. Here is where I am stalled. Instead of using a decal, I am having a stencil made. I’ll either use acrylic paint or a “rub-n-buff” gold, silver, or cooper leaf product. Once I get the stencils, I need to run a number of tests. Should I paint first, then apply an oil finish, or should I put a finish on first, then paint yada yada yaha? This is going to be the toughest part of the project.

If you have any ideas, I’d appreciate the suggestions.

About yaakov

Husband, Abba, Furniture Maker, Turner, Bookseller, and all around working stiff.
This entry was posted in In Yaakov's Workshop and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Let’s go to base camp!

  1. Makita Tools says:

    I am a woodworker so I found this post fantastic. Do you usually use hand tools. I used them since I bought my first cordless drill, then I become a fan of the cordless power tools.

  2. Lazy Larry says:

    Yaakov… such a dilemma… I would seal the timber first so that the paint does not bleed into the timber under the stencil… JMHO

  3. cobweb says:

    what about pyrography first and then gold leaf into the burnt area? Nice textured gold, and the surface will be lower than the surrounding wood which will protect the gold…Andy

  4. paloarte says:

    For the Beith David Synagogue, my father and I made a box with Mahogany and we applied Gold leafs on edges. The Logo was made of Brass with letters in black colour. In my opinion, Gold leafs is beautiful and has a very nice effect to an eye on an angle.

    Much love,
    Jake

Leave a Reply

