Butterflies at the Woodworking Show

Butterflies. Yes, very large butterflies are using my stomach for a bounce house. Why? I entered the Chai-Boy in the Showoff Showcase Contest at the big Woodworking Show in Baltimore.

Oy! To be judged and viewed by my fellow woodworkers makes me nervous. When I look at piece of furniture in person, I really look at the piece. I see things that a non-woodworker wouldn’t see, and that is what makes me nervous.

Then, to make matters more interesting, the judges will be the guest instructors from the Show. To put frosting on it, Tommy Mac and Scott Philips from Rough Cut Woodworking and The American Workshop will be there too! I would assume they will look at the Showoff Showcase Contest entries. Some people seemed to have the assumption that I do not like Tommy Mac. That’s not true. I do like Tommy Mac as a person, and I have respect for him as a woodworker and I respect him for the good things he does for his community and the community of woodworkers. I just think his show needs improving. But has I have said multiple times, it is getting better with each episode.

On a side note, here in Baltimore, we got the first four to six episodes, then they stopped airing the show. It looks like it is coming back on this weekend however. Weird.

Once I found out that Tommy Mac was coming to the show, I wanted to meet him and have a photo taken with him, but wouldn’t you know, he will be there only on Shabbos. So much for that idea. I hope I at least get to meet Scott Phillips.

You know, while I’m there, I might just stop by the Veritas booth or Lie-Nelson booth and see what type of deals they have for the Show. Perhaps I better stop taking my NTAS medicine today.

I will be there most of the day on Sunday, with the Baltimore Area Turners booth, so stop by and say hello.

See you at the Show and I will let you know how the Chai-boy did.

About yaakov

Husband, Abba, Furniture Maker, Turner, Bookseller, and all around working stiff.
This entry was posted in In Yaakov's Workshop and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Butterflies at the Woodworking Show

  1. Good for you, Yaakov. You saw some of the entries for Chicago on my blog, posts #26 and #37. You have a fine looking piece. Wish I could see it in person. May you do well.
    Shalom, John

  2. Lazy Larry says:

    I am excited for you to have such a wonderful opportunity to showcase your wonderful work… don’t worry … be happy…
    and let us know how you went.. and plenty of pics in the next blog…

  3. cobweb says:

    Good luck with the comp, Yaakov. I’ll keep my fingers crossed for you.

Leave a Reply

