What about 2011?

I have already written about “2010 a Year in Rant,” but what about 2011?  I’ve been thinking about this upcoming year for my woodworking business; what are my goals, what is my business plan for 2011? To be honest, I don’t really have a business plan, and I guess I really should think about it.

 For 2010, my business was pretty good, gross revenue increased by 25%, I could only hope that it should increase the same amount for 2011. That being said, I am not sure I can handle that much more work. So I guess that means that I should just raise my prices a bit and hope for the same amount of work as 2010. I know I should charge more, but as I have said before, I’m no salesman. Therefore, as part of my business plan for 2011, I want an agent / salesperson. At least it won’t be hard to find someone better looking than me.

Oh yes, before I forget, I recently was chosen as a winner in the Wood Whisperer Holiday Contest. I won a membership to The Wood Whisperer Guild. Pretty cool huh?! I am planning on entering the Chai-boy into some other shows too. Wish me luck!

I have decided that my major project for the year will be a new workbench. I would also like to reorganize the layout of my shop. I don’t know how I will do that yet, but I really think it could be better organized.

One of the blogs I subscribe to, “Little Good Pieces” ,wrote an article that addressed safety, and it “got me to thinking” as they say in the South. I should really try to be more safety conscious in the shop. I will make an effort to wear my dust mask or respirator more often, and I should use the guard on my table saw more often too. I do have a good relationship with my fingers, and I honestly do keep them at safe distances. But as the blog suggested, it only takes a small lapse in attention to change your life.

There are a number of things that I would like to have, change, or improve on the in coming year, but honestly, I don’t know how to obtain these types of things. For example: be more patient, do a better job at estimating how long it will take to do something, have my muse visit me more often, work on more artistic pieces, make the time to draw almost every day, have less back hair, get more students into the shop, win in another contest, stop buying more and more tools, work harder on my Etsy marketing and sales, and keep blogging. The little voice in the back of my head just whispered sarcastically, “good luck with all that!”

Finally, there is something that I really do want to improve upon in 2011. Having more fun. There are days when I am working on a commission and it is all I can do to motivate myself to get out to the shop. I want more pictures on the wall, and make the shop a bit more “homey.” Sometimes, I do forget this is supposed to be fun. Perhaps I need to put up a sign in the shop to that effect. 

Do you have goals for 2011?

About yaakov

Husband, Abba, Furniture Maker, Turner, Bookseller, and all around working stiff.
This entry was posted in In Yaakov's Workshop and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What about 2011?

  1. Lazy Larry says:

    Firstly , congratulations on the win.
    I don’t have problems with back hair but most if not all of the points you made are relevant to me and my business.. I need to get a marketing plan organised and a distribution network set up… all the rest.. will come…
    thanks for all your blogs and thoughts/comments last year
    Your friend in woodworking
    Lazy Larry…

  2. ann (mom) says:

    Congratulations on your recent win. As always, I am so proud of you. As for the things you’d like to improve for 2011, safety is certainly worth working toward, but it seems to me that you exercise great time management skills. To hold down a full time job, a book business and a woodworking business is incredable. Add to that the duties of a husband and father and your religious duties. All that makes me dizzy just thinking about it. You know how I feel about the importance of fun in your life. You owe that not only to yourself but also to your loving, faithful, supportive partner, wife and great mother to your wonderful children, Maia. “All work and no play, make Yaakov a dull boy”. Thus spake someone I don’t remember, but whomever was indeed smart! Of course you know you must practice moderation in all things, including moderation and prioritize. Try to stop and smell the roses everyday, find joy in small things, and say “I love you”, and show love to those you love. Our days are short and hurry by so try to be joyful and loving as much as you can. Again congrats on your win!

Leave a Reply

