Chai-Boy the Final Chapter

The snow is falling, the first real snow of winter, and if you listen carefully, you can hear the faint sounds of someone of rejoicing from the FbY workshop. Yes,,,, you can hear it,,,, the sound of someone dancing and singing. Wafting through the dampened snow filled air, you can hear, ‘Happy happy joy joy, I’ve finished the Chai-boy!’ over and over again.

With a sharp click sound the two magnets joined together, and the Chai-boy is done.

Part of side view

View of Flocking

Epilogue

You should learn something from just about every project you work on, and with this project, I learned a lot. I learned how to flock, make my own shellac, blog a project from inception to completion, learned a new finishing technique, improved my hand tool knowledge and skills, I learned to sharpen my planes to perfection, learned about rare earth magnets, and learned a lot more about the engineering of furniture design. I’ve made mistakes along the way, which created new “design opportunities”, but aside from a few flaws that generally only cause consternation to the maker, I am really pleased with this project.

I’m feeling happy and a bit sad cause it’s over, and I’m excited about sharing the photos, and I’m proud of the work I have done. Thanks to all of you out in the blogosphere who offered advice, encouragement, and praise. And best of all,  your friendship!

Now I have to find a photographer and work out a deal. You can see a couple more photos of the Chai-boy on my website.

Kol tuv,

yaakov……

About yaakov

Husband, Abba, Furniture Maker, Turner, Bookseller, and all around working stiff.
This entry was posted in Chai Boy Journal and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Chai-Boy the Final Chapter

  1. paloarte says:

    SPLENDID!!!!!!!!!!!!

  2. knottywood says:

    Fantastic! You should be singing and dancing. If you can see your way clear… get some pro photos, write text and get it in the magazines. Proud of you man…

  3. Lazy Larry says:

    From one woodworker to another… you have every right to be PROUD.. It has been a long journey … but definitely worth it… Wonderful piece.

  4. Ah! Absolutely stunning. Congratulations on a fine piece of work.

    Now, on to the next one!

  5. cobweb says:

    a stunning result, Yaakov…it’s been interesting watching it develop to completion. I wish I had your skill and patience.

    • yaakov says:

      Thanks Andy! That means a lot to me coming from a real artist like yourself.

      If you are ever in the States, I sure wish you would let me know.

      Be well,
      yaakov…

  6. Pingback: Turning aside | Artisan's Call

Leave a Reply

