My Bonehead Award

All though I got a lot done in the shop yesterday, it was not my day. They say bad luck comes in threes, but I wonder if that rule applies to bad judgment too.

After gluing each of the drawer fronts to the drawer boxes, I needed to clamp them together so the joint would dry properly. So I placed a couple of paper towels down on a flat surface, then stood the each drawer up on its drawer front and clamped it to the flat surface. I did all that after I meticulously sanded through all the dry grits and wet grits using paraffin oil. When an hour or so went by, I unclamped the drawers, and lo and behold, the paper towel texture was molded onto the drawer front! I had to go back to the 220 grit sandpaper and work my way through the sanding process again. My shoulder was not very happy about that!

When it came time to put the top on, I noticed that the top was not longer sitting perfectly flat when I set it down on the table saw top. I have no idea how this could have happened. So on the back left corner, I was forced to insert a small shim. There is not excuse for a piece of fine furniture to be shimmed, but I really did not know what else to do. The band saw box “Yud” will at least hide the shim.

Finally, the “Hinny Youngman Bone Head Award of the Year” award was presented to me yesterday. I don’t know where you live, but it is cold out there! Whilst applying the shellac to the top, I moved the Chai-boy in the area of the shop with the propane heater. Let me clarify, I moved the Chai-boy too close to the heater and the high heat did something to the surface of the wood that made rough. Only a small area was affected, but I will need to go back and sand out that area! I think my shoulder will most likely send me a nasty gram about that too.

Chai-boy with drawer fronts attached

At least the assembly of the “Ches” is pretty much done except for the drawer pulls. Now I need to start on the “Yud” bandsaw box part of the project. I’ve got a lot to think through on that part of the project. At least today is an odd numbered day, so perhaps my luck will change and I will get my list of objectives SUCCESSFULLY completed. One can only hope.

About yaakov

Husband, Abba, Furniture Maker, Turner, Bookseller, and all around working stiff.
This entry was posted in Chai Boy Journal and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Bonehead Award

  1. For all the extra work, it is a great looking piece, Yaakov.
    Shalom, John

Leave a Reply

