Oil here there and everywhere

My fingers and shoulders have been getting a supreme workout for the past couple of days. This Chai-boy project is so unusual. This is first time I have had to do 95% of the finishing work before assembly. Let me tell you what has been happening lately.

Each of the walnut parts and the two birds-eye maple carcass sides each received about 8 to 9 coats of shellac with no sanding between coats. Then one at a time, I started the finish sanding process. First, each piece got a light going over with 220, 320 and 600 grit sandpaper. Now for the “wet” sanding; I put paraffin oil on the 600 grit paper and using circular motions I went over the entire surface. With the surface coated in paraffin oil, I went over each surface with 1200 grit, 1500 grit, and then 1500 grit with rotten stone sprinkled on. After wiping off the rotten stone and paraffin oil, it has a baby smooth surface which begs to be touched. It is a lot of work, but the end result is worth it. On the down side, all that hand sanding just about sanded off the fingerprints on my thumbs and index fingers!

Right after I came in from the shop, my hands were still stinking of paraffin oil and my finger nails were black with the rotten stone slurry. So wouldn’t you know it was bed time for the kids. All of my daughters have a cold, so I have been putting “Vicks Vapo-rub” on them before bed time. Let me tell you, the combination of paraffin oil and Vick’s made quite a pungent smell on my fingers. Trying to eat with that smell on your hands somewhat kills your appetite. Peewhew!

K-nobs and Drawer pulls

I finally made up my mind about what I want to do for the drawer pulls. I knew I wanted something black, simple, and very modern looking. There are quite a number of website with knobs, and I found a set that I really liked, but they were almost six dollars apiece. (Not what you want for a spec piece on a budget) Then I saw something that gave me that eureka moment! Simple black bars, about 3.5” long and a tad over .5” proud. I have a nice chunk of ebony that has been calling my name begging to be used. (I really don’t hear wood talking to me, I just hear strange voices) Hey! I can make my own pulls and save money! I’ll try to get an ultra smooth finish on the ebony and make them super glossy. And the bonus is that I don’t have to drill holes through my flocking!

 Speaking of knobs, I’ve been thinking about launching FaceBook group that protests the use of silent “k’s”. There’s no crying in baseball, and there’s no “k” sound in nobs! What a silly language we have!

Tomorrow is another day, and tomorrow I plan to glue up the carcass sides to the legs. Then I will finally have something to take pictures of again. I still have more finish sanding to do, but at least I am doing something that at least looks constructive.

Speaking of tomorrow, tomorrow night is the first night of Chanukah! (do you see the connection with today’s work?) Chag Samach!

About yaakov

Husband, Abba, Furniture Maker, Turner, Bookseller, and all around working stiff.
This entry was posted in Chai Boy Journal and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Oil here there and everywhere

  1. Brian says:

    Considering how little I know about cabinet making at this stage – thanks for the tip getting the glossy finish! I’ll toss it in the back of my head and hopefully haul it out at just the right time.

Leave a Reply

