Il buono, il brutto, il cattivo

Translated from the Italian, “The Good, The Bad, and The Ugly.”

Actually, a better title for this post would be, “The Good, the oh well…, the disappointing, and the creepy.

The Good

I needed a new 1/4” round-over bit, so the friendly salesman at Woodcraft suggested I try  Freud’s new Quadra-Cut bit. It was more expensive, but he showed me a sample of hard maple that had been cut using a Quadra-Cut, and there were no burn marks on the end grain. That’s what sold me along with the 1/2″ shank. So I bought one, and after rounding over all the drawer fronts, there was not a single burn mark. Good investment!

After I rounded over all the drawer fronts, I sanded the drawer fronts with 220 grit sandpaper, then applied Boiled Linseed Oil (BLO). They look so good with that coat of oil on them!

The Oh Well….

I was somewhat disappointed by my homemade amber shellac. Although the shellac itself looks very amber in the jar, once on the wood, it is hard to tell my amber shellac from the store-bought clear shellac. On the good side, my shellac was a bit thinner and I was able to get four coats applied to all carcass parts. I hope to get another three coats applied today.

 The Disappointed

When I updated my table saw blade, I purchased the Freud Premier Fusion full kerf combination blade. The ad says “The Fusion tooth design fuses Freud’s 30° Hi-ATB tooth with Freud’s unique double side grind tooth geometry. The design provides a glass smooth side finish while also giving a flawless top & bottom finish in veneered plywood, hardwoods, and melamine.” I did not get the glass smooth side finish, all I got was burn and saw marks at the bottom of the cut. My Freud ripping blade works better. All in all very disappointed.

The Creepy

Those of you who know me well, know that I have a beard. Not just a “beard”, a very long beard. Now it has ventured into the realm of the creepy length. I have to braid it, then fold it, and bobby pin it up because it is a safety hazard. Like the British sailor from the 18th century who had a pigtail in back, I have a pigtail in the front! I unbraid it from time to time to get all the sawdust out and tighten it back up, and when I unbraided it this evening, I was amazed how long it had gotten. Hold your head up and place your fist under your chin, then alternating fists, make seven fist lengths down. Yikes! I am sure you are wondering why in the world I do this, and I can assure you there is an answer.

About yaakov

Husband, Abba, Furniture Maker, Turner, Bookseller, and all around working stiff.
This entry was posted in Chai Boy Journal and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Il buono, il brutto, il cattivo

  1. Brian says:

    lol! What’s the reason? 7 fists? That’s some proper chin fur.

  2. yaakov says:

    I am an orthodox jew associated with the Chabad Lubovitch movement. Lubovitchers have a tradition of not trimming their beards. Somehow I was blessed (or cursed) with a really long beard. Some guys wear their long beards down all the time. Wearing my beard down is the signal for my youngst to grab it in his stickly little hands.

    Thanks for reading! yaakov….

Leave a Reply

