Dear diary

Dear Secret Diary, (read in the voice of David Sedaris)  <very funny link>

I can’t decide which is more pathetic, the fact that a forty-seven year old man secretly relishes birthday money, or the fact that I still need it! Yikes!  That birthday money is burning a hole in my pocket, and I have been dreaming about getting a #4 Lie-Nielsen smoothing plane for a long long time. Everytime I have the money to buy one, I need something else that is more important. This time, I think it is in reach, muwhahahaha. Whenever the grandparents ask my kids what they want for their birthday, I keep suggesting that they ask for a #4 Lie-Nielsen Smoothing Plane “in Bronze.” It has gotten to the point that they recite it in unison in a sing-song voice. Little do they know, that next time I will suggest to Oma and Grandpa that they want a Rob Cosman Crosscut saw. What kid wouldn’t what that! Honestly, I’m sure my sixteen month old boy would much rather that a smoothing plane than a stupid ball.

Haven’t completely decided what I want to do on Sunday for my birthday. Think I might head over to Woodcraft and participate in the Turn for Troops event. That certainly sounds more entertaining that walking around the neighborhood trying to sell Girl Scout cookies door to door with my daughters.  Never thought I’d see the day that I would rather sit around and eat the cookies more than going out for a good walk or hike. Shame shame shame.

On a happy note, I completed and installed the Ahavas Yisroel Donation Box project, now I can get back to the Chai-Boy and some hollow vessel turning with my new boring bar system. Booyeah!

New AY Boxes in the new 7Mile Market

That’s all for now diary, see you again on Sunday.
About yaakov

Husband, Abba, Furniture Maker, Turner, Bookseller, and all around working stiff.
This entry was posted in Stories and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Dear diary

  1. Lazy Larry says:

    Have a Happy Birthday on Sunday and I hope you enjoy the new #4 L-N….

Leave a Reply

