Charlie Brown’s Channukah Bowl

It took me a long time go get it done, but I done it!  From a previous post entitled,”Now don’t get all bent out of shape,” I finished working on the large cherry bowl that warped so far out of shape.

Warped Cherry Bowl

When I took this piece out of the bag, I was really disappointed. I knew there was no way I would get this back onto the lathe. After thinking about it for a couple of days, I finally decided that I would just sand the piece into something smooth and useful.

After the initial disappointment about the shape, it began it grow on me. The shape reminded me of Noah’s ark, so there was no way I could just let this one become firewood. (not that I have a fireplace).

I stopped up the cracks with CA glue and put a variety of power sanders to work. It took a lot of sanding and then it took a lot of hand sanding to get it super smooth and looking nice.

Butcher block oil (mineral oil) brought the piece to life, and after a number of coats, I knew I had made the right decision to keep the bowl.

I put a couple of coats of carnauba wax on the bowl via a buffing pad, and here is the completed bowl. It is not a lovely piece, but I think it has hidden character.

It is a sturdy heavy bowl, perfect for fruit, veggies, or popcorn.

About yaakov

Husband, Abba, Furniture Maker, Turner, Bookseller, and all around working stiff.
This entry was posted in In Yaakov's Workshop and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Charlie Brown’s Channukah Bowl

  1. Slissie says:

    This is Beautiful Yaakov.

  2. Agh, who ever said they have to be round? It’s your bowl – it can be any shape you like! Good save.

Leave a Reply

