Now don’t get all bent out of shape

Beside my desk resides a pile of roughed out, drying bowls in paper bags. Each bag has a date on it, and after four to six months of “pile time”, I open up the bags and hope for the best. I assume potters must have the same feeling of anticipation and anxiety when they open up their kiln. It’s a lot like opening presents for Chanukah. You open the bag and don’t expect much.

The time had come for me to open up a bag with a hefty bowl in it. I have been waiting for this one for a while. I had a nice chunk of cherry and I made a large deep salad bowl shape. This was going to be a really great piece, I just knew it. Well, needless to say, it got kinda, well, “bent outta shape”, and developed a couple small cracks too. Picture a larger version of Charlie Brown’s x-mas tree. But the more I looked at it, I began to feel like Charlie Brown. I loved the bowl, and you know what?! I think with a little love (and a whole lotta hand sandin’) I can still make something out of this.

 

Charlie Brownstein's Chanukah Bowl

 

The bowl has developed too much of an oval shape to be turned “round,” but I think I can put the sanders too it and spiffy it up.  I find the overall shape pleasing to the eye, and it peaks like the prow of a ship on the front and back rim. It’s a decent sized piece, about 6.5″ tall and 10.5″ at its widest point. I can give it a good butcher block oil finish on the inside and a tough wax finish on the outside. I guess I could make some cherry serving spoons to go with it.

What do you think?

About yaakov

Husband, Abba, Furniture Maker, Turner, Bookseller, and all around working stiff.
This entry was posted in In Yaakov's Workshop and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

