Not hopping rabbits but…..

Parts are coming together. The tenons are complete and the rabbets for the sides were cut, and now you can begin to the basic shape of the Chai Boy.

View of the front legs

I only had one problem tenon that was cut too small, so I simply wrapped up the tenon in masking tape to get a snug fit. Badaboo badabing!

Just in case you are not sure what I am talking about: “the basic mortise and tenon comprises two components: the mortise hole (female) and the tenon (male). The tenon is formed to the end of a member generally referred to as a rail and is inserted into a square or rectangular hole cut into the corresponding member. The tenon is cut to fit the mortise hole exactly and usually has shoulders that seat when the joint fully enters the mortise hole. The joint may be glued, pinned, or wedged to lock it in place.” (Should I put an “R” rating on this blog?)

The sides were fit into the legs using rabbet and grove joinery. These are not hopping “rabbits”, but wooden “rabbets”. Okay, here is the boring definition: “When viewed in cross-section, a dado has three sides. A dado is cut across, or perpendicular to, the grain and is thus differentiated from a groove which is cut with, or parallel to, the grain. A dado may be through, meaning that it passes all the way through the surface and its ends are open, or stopped, meaning that one or both of the ends finish before the dado meets the edge of the surface. Dados are often used to affix shelves to a bookcase carcase. Combined with a rabbet (rebate) on an adjoining piece, they are used to make the rabbet and dado joint, sometimes used in case goods.

View of the side

When does it ever end?

I know this is a rather disconnected idea, but as far as tools are concerned, when does it ever end!? I have all the major power tools, but the list of hand tools I want is getting bigger and bigger. As I have said before, I have found myself using my hand planes more and more. Every time I make a tenon or rabbet, I can’t wait to use my Lie-Nielsen rabbet plane. At the top of the hand tool wish list is the Lie-Nielsen #4 Smooth plane. It always seems to be out of my budget reach. There are a couple of handsaws I want, and some other speciality planes too. I used to live under the delusion that one day I will have all the tools I want, but I am being to understand it will be a never-ending quest.

I think I need a corporate sponsor like one of those race car drivers. Anyone want to sponsor me? I’ll attach your logo on my clothes, tools, car, workshop, the kids. Hey, you can rename a child if the sponsorship is good enough.

About yaakov

Husband, Abba, Furniture Maker, Turner, Bookseller, and all around working stiff.
This entry was posted in Chai Boy Journal and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Not hopping rabbits but…..

  1. paloarte says:

    hahahahaha! you’re the coolest!

    I love reading your blog, man.

    What would we do without the masking tape? 😉

    BTW. Is that maple solid board or it’s a ply?

    So far it looks very nice.

    Cheers,
    Jake

    P.S. Are you going to do Dove-Tail drawers?

  2. yaakov says:

    Jake,

    I am going to dovetail the drawers, and I’d really want to do them all by hand, but most likely I’ll end up using my Leigh Dovetail Jig. I have a really crappy dovetail saw that I don’t want to use for this project. I have big deposit check for a commission coming anyday now, so after I buy the project supplies I’ll see how much is left because I want a Rob Cosman dovetail saw.

    Do you know of a turner named Lyle Jamieson? He is well known for his hollow vessels and his hollow vessel boring system. He will be here in Baltimore tomorrow giving demos and classes. I’m going to get one of this boring systems so that is eating up my cash. The bonus is that he will be staying with me for 5 days while he is teaching here. How cool is that!

    The sides are solid maple, and I am going to use a nicely figured birds-eye maple for the drawer fronts.

    Thanks again for reading my blog!

    yaakov….

  3. paloarte says:

    Dovetail, all hand made, birds eye maple…all these tell how passionate you are when it comes to woodworking! The only down part, I guess for most woodworkers, is funds. I’m also very limited in funds for getting my own toys in my shop.

    My shop has most of the tools for commercial demand. Like the Dovetailer Machine made by General International. You can’t do much of custom dovetails, but standard grade (or as Woodworking Institute of California would suggest, custom grade :D) drawers.

    I think I recalled Lyle Jamieson. I heard about him few years ago at the American Woodturners Associations’ Glendale Woodturners Guild chapter. If I recollect it right, people were talking about how quick he turns!

    BTW. I’ve received an email from GWG about an interesting work that is displayed at the Long Beach Museum of Contemporary Arts. I will try to link the email in my blog.

    Cheers,
    Jake

Leave a Reply

